Review: Sleek Solstice Highlight Palette!

Hi my lovelies,

So I’m back with another beauty review and this time it’s Sleek Makeup’s Solstice Highlight palette! I bought this a while back, but I’ve been wanting to do a full review of it since I got it, so here we go! Spring has got me obsessed with highlighting and getting that glow everyone is looking for, so this palette has been one of my most used makeup items over the last couple of months!

20160312_191353-1

Sleek is a great, affordable brand in my opinion and this highlight palette has 4 different shades in there for just £10, so each colour costs just £2.50 – a bargain in my opinion!

Packaging

This palette comes in a really pretty gold mirrored compact (which was really difficult to photograph properly) with the Sleek logo prominent of the front. I think the gold makes this product look a lot more expensive than it is, and really reflects (ha!) the theme of the palette – Solstice A.K.A the sun! There’s a big mirror in the lid, which is always a plus. One thing I don’t really like though is because the packaging is mirrored, it’s prone to getting fingerprints all over it!

20160312_191507-1.jpg

Shades

In here are four shades, each one giving a completely different effect.

  • Ecliptic is a bronzey toned cream shade
  • Hemisphere is a baked, lilac toned shade
  • Subsolar is a natural, golden yellow toned shade
  • Equinox is a baked, peachy toned shade

20160504_194210

 

Glow Payoff

A you can see with the swatches above, the shades in this palette are all absolutely beautiful and apply really nicely. The cream shade, Ecliptic is super creamy and really blendable, as are all of the colours. Ecliptic and Subsolar are perfect for a natural looking glow when blended out, whereas the lilac toned Hemisphere looks great when going for an all out glow as it catches the light beautifully and  looks quite bold, but soft when paired with a cute pink blush. I’ve also been experimenting with patting a bit of this right on my eyelid at the last minute when I’m going for purple shadow, and it looks fantastic! My fave shade though, is the peachy Equinox, as it’s a super versatile shade that is perfect for spring and summer!

Wearability/Longevity

These shades look great and blend out really well on the skin, with almost no powdery fallout when used with my favourite highlight tool – my beloved Smashbox fan brush. I can put my highlight on in the morning, and it lasts well throughout the day, which is fabulous for such an affordable palette. The cream formulation especially has loads of staying power, which I love.

What’s the verdict?

Firstly, for £10 for four highlighters, you can’t go wrong. All four shades in here are ridiculously pretty and wearable, and really good quality for the price. I only have a few little niggles with this being 1. the mirror only bends to around 90 degrees, 2. the little brush that comes with the compact is a nice addition, but completely rubbish. You’re probably better using your fingers, and 3. the lemony shade, subsolar leaves a tiny bit of silver glitter after it fades a bit later in the day which is a little awkward looking. Apart from that, this palette is fantastic and you should totally go buy it because yes! Use this with a tapered highlight brush or a fan brush (my preference!) to blend this out perfectly!

For something a little more high end, check out my review of the Clinique chubby stick highlighter!

So what do you guys think? Have you tried out these highlighters and if so, what’s your fave in the palette? Any other favourite highlighters out there? Leave me a comment to let me know!

Want to buy this? Find it here!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. I’m currently trying out my beauty blender against the RT sponge for a review, so look out for that one in a week or two!

Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

Benefit Dandelion Wishes Set – First Impressions and Review! ||  Birchbox May 2016 – Sneak Peek! || I Finally Got a Beauty Blender!! || April Beauty Faves! || Beauty Top 5 – Clinique! || 10 Beauty Mistakes You Might Not Know You’re Making ||9 Perfectly Pink Lip Colours for Spring! || 20 Beauty Blog Post Ideas to Combat Writer’s Block! ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

Big news! You lovelies can now follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Also send me yours and I will follow you also!)

Ciao for now,

footer

43 thoughts on “Review: Sleek Solstice Highlight Palette!

  1. lizzgold says:

    I just bought this the other day, I’m so excited to try it! Do you find the creamier shades pull off your foundation at all? It’s a total pet peeve of mine haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment