August Faves and Fails!

Hi my lovelies,

A little belated, but here’s the list of things that I’ve been loving and loathing through the month of August! There’s definitely a big mix of items in here this month, from Makeup, skincare, Tv, books and music,  so grab a cuppa and settle in for August’s list!

20160907_180555-tile

The Faves:

  • Spectrum Marbleous Brushes – face20160820_161809

 

If you follow me on twitter or Instagram, you’ll know that I had a disaster with one of the old set of these I had, as one brush completely broke. The company (big props to Spectrum) were super nice and offered to replace it, but sent me an entire new set of brushes!! I love the new brushes even more than the old ones, and I’m particularly in love with the Contour Brush, the Large powder brush (perfect for a big sweep of bronzer), and the angled Stippling brush! A definite one to try out for anyone looking for new brushes!

 

20160907_1817420

  • Lush Eau Roma Water

This was a recommendation for me, and thank you to whoever did, as I’m in love! I’ve been using the Clinique toner for a while, but it’s too harsh and too drying for me. This one from Lush is super gentle, hydrating and calming – I’ve already stocked up with the big bottle of this! It also smells great!

  • Oils of heaven – Ooh Argan oil

This is a pure argan oil for the face, but I’ve actually cheated a little and started using this in my hair instead as it’s a pure oil. I’m really hesitant about adding an oil to my daily routine as my face gets oily anyway, but this has made my hair super sleek and soft and lovely and shiny! Not what I’m supposed to use it for, but I love it anyway!

20160907_180913

  • Colourpop Super Shock Shadows

If you read my Colourpop update post, you’ll know just how much I really like these shadows! The formula is like nothing I’ve used, blends really well, and lasts ages! I’m definitely hoping to pick up more shades (but I’ll need to make the ridiculous postage cost worth it!)

  • Sleek I-Divine Shadow Palette in All Night Long

Another neutrals palette? I know I have a problem and it doesn’t seem to be ending any time soon. While I wish this palette had more matte shades in it, the metallics and shimmer shades in here are gorgeous! For a cheaper, drugstore palette it’s a really nice one!

20160907_182050

  • Nars Sheer Lip Treatment in Paloma

All those liquid and matte lipsticks I’ve been wearing really take a toll on my lips, and this tinted balm has been my saviour this month! It’s super hydrating, and has a lovely tint to it so I can wear it instead of a lippy to work etc. I got this in my Look Incredible box this month, and I think it’s definitely worth buying again (even though it hurts my heart to pay £15 for a lip balm)

  • Colourpop Highlighter in Smoke N Whistles
  • Colourpop Brow Pencil in Bangin’ Brunette

Two more additions from Colourpop in this month’s faves, and I love them both! The highlighter is creamy and really blendable – it comes from the cream to powder formula. It’s also nicely pigmented without looking like I have a big stripe on my face. The brow pencil is so nice, creamy and stays all day without smudging! I normally go for a pencil that’s a little waxier, but the colour on this is perfect for me! Pretty great for the price!

Non Beauty Faves!

download-tile

  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

It was strange reading this at first as it’s a script, but this definitely took me back to my Harry Potter roots and reminded me why I love the series so much! No spoilers for those who haven’t read this yet, but Scorpius Malfoy is my new favourite as such a beautifully written, three dimensional character.

  • Royal Blood – Royal Blood

This was on my Spotify recommended list, and I’ve been listening to it non stop since! It’s sort of a really modern rock vibe, with a little grunge and metal thrown in there for good measure. You’ll find me humming Ten Tonne Skeleton or Careless to myself absentmindedly because did I mention it’s incredibly catchy and you’ll definitely start singing along!

ugly-betty-cast-photo-tile

  • Ugly Betty

An old favourite of mine that I have revisited lately (and binge watched accordingly) is Ugly Betty. This dramedy is a show that I can watch time and time again, and always love, and that last episode gets to me every time. Betty’s transformation from a naive, clueless girl into a confident, assertive woman is the best part of the show, and there’s a little bit of her that everyone can relate to.

  • The Shannara Chronicles

A bit of a cheat, as I’ve only watched four episodes of this so far, but I love this already! Newly added to Netflix, this plucks at every sci fi nerd heartstring I have! Based on Terry Brooks Shannara novels (which I now need to read), this follows an elf called Amberle and how she’s trying to save her world from demons and evil magics. There are battle scenes, flying baddies and druids galore and I’ll probably catch you guys up when I’ve finished the season!

The Fails:

20160907_180555

All skincare/body  I’m afraid, these either just didn’t work for me or were downright just bad products. Let’s get on with the list!

  • Anatomicals Citrus Body Scrub

I don’t even think this deserves to be called a scrub because It’s not scrubby! There are almost no exfoliating beads or scrubby bits in this to actually do anything, and the gel in there doesn’t really foam up as a shower gel either. It’s just sort of a citrus smelling (it’s only plus) gel with a few bits in it that does nothing to scrub at all! Boo for Birchbox sending me this!

  • Origins Ginzing Peel off mask

The first of two masks on this list, and I don’t like this for a few reasons:  The smell stung my eyes when I was applying this so badly – I don’t know whether there’s alcohol in this, or it’s the ginger but this stung like I was chopping an onion right under my  eyes. I left this on for the recommended amount of time, but when I went to peel this off, it would not budge! It hurt so much to peel off tiny sections, like ripping loads of plasters off my face – really not nice! I had high hopes for this, but sadly it didn’t work out.

  • L’Oreal Pure ClayPurity Mask

Another mask that didn’t work for me is this one from L’oreal. As you know, my skin is allergy prone and super sensitive, and this mask straight up burned when I applied it. For days after my skin was a complete mess, full of a rash, and it broke me out pretty badly. Needless to say I won’t be using this again and will probably pass it along to a friend.

July’s faves and fails!

So that’s another faves and fails post done with! There have been some really great (and not so great) things this month on the list – what do you guys think of what I chose this month? Any of your personal faves in there too? Have you tried any of these and If you did what’s your opinion of them? Also, is there anything on your faves that I should definitely know about and try? Divulge your thoughts in the comments, please!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

Birchbox September 2016 – Sneak Peek! || Beauty Bay Makeup Haul! || The 7 Deadly Sins of Beauty Tag || The Lust List – August || Look Incredible Beauty Box Unboxing – August 2016! || An Update on my Colourpop Haul! || Review: Grounded Coffee Scrub! ||  Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter|| The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

17 thoughts on “August Faves and Fails!

  1. stashy says:

    I’ve heard great things about the LUSH Eau Roma Water! I’m using the Clinique one right now and it’s quite good – it’s the facial mist toner.
    Sleek I-Divine Shadow is on my wish list. We don’t have access to Sleek here but I want to place an order – I’d have to spend $100 to make it worthwhile, that’s a LOT of products given Sleek’s price point!
    Oh phew, it’s not just me. I just started using a shower gel by Anatomicals and it’s really runny. I thought it’d be a good product because the packaging looked so cool but it’s so watery, it doesn’t even get a lather.
    And sorry to hear about the L’Oreal mask – lots of blogs have been reviewing them and I’m curious. But I’ll have to read the ingredients to see what they contain because I have sensitive skin too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • beautybyjessblog says:

      My mum has the mist toner from Clinique and I can’t use it – It really stings my skin for some reason but she loves it.
      Where are you? The Sleek website does shipping worldwide now – maybe check that out?
      I think I’m just going to avoid Anatomicals products from now on because that scrub was seriously disappointing – not the best, I think they do sucker you in with nice packaging.
      No idea what’s in the L’Oreal mask that my skin hated, but I can tell you I won’t be using it again!

      Like

  2. lizzgold says:

    I found the exact same with the GinZing mask the first time I used it and I wrote it off as being rubbish but when I left it on a few minutes longer it actually came off easier. Although maybe that’s not for you if the smell makes your eyes water!

    Like

Leave a Reply

