The Best Beauty Blending Sponge?? Beauty Blender VS Real Techniques VS Spectrum Collections!

Hi my lovelies,

So this is a post that that’s been in the works for a couple of weeks, and pretty requested from you guys since I first mentioned it! I’ve been testing out the Beauty Blender against the Real Techniques and the Spectrum Collections make up sponges for a good few weeks now, and I think I can talk about the pros and cons of all three now!

bb1

What I did: They say your foundation can only be as good as the tools you use to apply it, so I gave all three of these a try with two foundations – one high street (Revlon Colorstay) and one higher end (Clinique Beyond Perfecting), and I used my usual concealer and powder combos with them too!

Beauty BlenderIMG_20160504_110748

What? A pink egg shaped makeup sponge, this is the iconic blending sponge that is loved by Professionals, Celebs and Bloggers alike!

How Much? £16

Where Can I buy it? Pretty much anywhere online nowadays, but check the Beauty Blender website for stockists

Pros: This is the softest sponge of the bunch, and holds the least water (and absorbs the least product!) in the sponge. I’ve noticed this means I’m using the least amount of product than other make up sponges, although I should note I use less product with brushes than with sponges. The egg shape means I can use the rounded edges to blend my foundation in seamlessly, and gives a super natural look, with no obvious lines. The best bit? The pointed tip is super soft, bouncy and malleable, and I think I’ve used this every single day for my concealer over the last week. It gets right in there under my eyes to conceal, without irritating, and makes my concealer look flawless.Well worth it for how it makes my concealer look alone!

Cons: Not many, if I’m honest. The main one is the price: £16 for one tiny little sponge!? Am I insane? Probably, but I’m certainly not alone. The other little niggles I have with this is that it’s so soft that I’m worried about accidentally ripping it when cleaning, as it takes a bit of effort to get all the product off, and from the first few washes, I  noticed quite a bit of pink dye coming out in the sink, which I was a little concerned about.

Real Techniques Miracle Complextion Sponge20160515_120921

What? A more high street/drugstore option to rival the Beauty Blender, created by Sam and Nic from Pixiwoo. Real Techniques brushes dominate the high street for their quality and value, and this orange sponge has flat, round and pointed sections for all needs.

How Much? £5.99

Where Can I buy it? I got mine from Boots, but most drugstores or Real Techniques online shop sell them too!

Pros: The flat edge makes it super easy to dab on your foundation before blending it it. Many make up sponges are egg shaped nowadays, so this sets the RT sponge apart in appeal and appearance. I noticed it takes less time to apply my base with this than the Beauty Blender, so it’s great if you’re in a hurry. This one is also really soft and bouncy, and the flat edge is perfect for patting on setting powder! It’s also worth mentioning that this costs £10 less than the Beauty Blender.

Cons: I have a few things about this I don’t like (sorry, RT). While I like the flat edge, it means that there are a couple of harsh edges which makes blending more difficult, resulting in a less flawless base. The sponge looks fine when dry but expands so much when dampened to the point where I find the pointed end is a little too wide and makes blending in my concealer harder to do. It also lends itself to ripping pretty quickly. I’m not sure if you can see it clearly on the photo, but there is a slight rip in the flat edge from cleaning, which leads me to the idea that it may not be as good value as it sounds as it will need replacing more often.

Spectrum Collections Unicorn Tears Blending Sponge20160515_120936

What? An egg shaped sponge similar in shape to the Beauty Blender, and comes in either pink or purple. I have the purple shade, so I don’t get mixed up between sponges! Created by Insta-famous brush brand Spectrum, and featured in May’s Birchbox!

How Much? £4.99

Where Can I buy it? It’s featured in this month’s Birchbox, but you can buy from Spectrum online Here (I highly recommend their brushes, too)

Pros: This product has the cutest name ever! Sort of a hybrid of the other two sponges, with a flatter bottom edge and a curved, egg like shape, meaning I can pat on products, and blend, blend, blend! This one also expands the most out of the three, meaning it it compact for travel, but is larger when dampened. I honestly prefer this to the other sponges to blend out cream products like cream blush, contour or highlight than foundation as it’s a little stiffer than the other two. I like how even though this expands loads, the pointed tip stays pretty thin so I can blend in my concealer with little effort and still have it looking flawless. Also, at under a fiver, I can’t complain about the value for money!

Cons: As I said above, it is a little stiffer and more solid than the other two sponges, meaning it can be a little more difficult to blend with and get that flawless, airbrushed base. I also had to be super vigilant about making sure I got as much water out of this as I could, as it holds quite a lot, meaning it also soaks up more foundation that the others. I also think this expands a little too much to be able to get into all the little nooks and crannies as well as the Beauty Blender does on the foundation side, but I really like this for concealer! I’ve only had this around 3 weeks so far, so I’m not sure about it’s lasting power yet, but I have high hopes!

What’s the Verdict?

Overall I really like blending sponges for putting on and blending out my base, applying powder and putting on cream products, too! They do take a little longer to use (and get the hang of the method) than a brush, but make your makeup look a lot more natural and blended than using a flat or buffing brush when putting on your base.

bb2

For me, the Spectrum and Real Techniques sponges are great for testing out a beauty blender type sponge if you’re not sure about what to do, how to use them, or are on a budget, as they’re great value for money. I do prefer the Spectrum one a little more than the RT one, as it’s more Beauty Blender-esque and cleans more easily.However, the clear winner for me in this is the Beauty Blender. I now understand why everyone has been raving about this for so long, as it makes my base product look completely flawless, with a non-powdery, airbrushed finish. It’s the perfect way for me to apply and blend out concealer, and I’ve been reaching for this for that purpose almost every day lately. It is pretty pricey, so I’ll have to see how long it lasts and if I find it’s worth the money in the long run, but I don’t see myself parting with this anytime soon!

I will say however that the other two sponges are perfectly good and will apply your foundation and concealer well, but it’s down to personal preference. I do think if I hadn’t tried a proper Beauty Blender that I’d be completely happy using a combo of the two other sponges to apply my makeup with no worries about it being cakey or looking patchy or bad.

A few tips:

  • Use the “bounce and roll” technique to blend out foundation as it gives the best and most flawless results
  • Try using the pointed tip to blend concealer, especially under eyes. Trust me, you won’t regret it!
  • Use the sponge to set your makeup with powder, too. The sponge being slightly damp will allow the powder to soak in more easily with no cake-age
  • Clean your blender with something solid, as it makes it so much easier. I like to just use sensitive bar soap due to my skin, but you can use solid brush cleansers too!
  • It might be a pain, but try and clean your sponge every time you use it, as it both makes it easier to clean, and extends the longevity.
  • Sponges will also be great for your contour too, try using the same method as your foundation to blend in your contour or blush!
  • I normally prefer to dab foundation on my face with my fingers where I want the coverage to go, then blend out, but you can also put foundation on the back of your hand and dab with the sponge to apply.

So that’s my comparison of the Beauty Blender VS Real Techniques VS Spectrum sponges! What do you guys think? Have you tried any (or all) of these and what’s your fave to use? Do you prefer a sponge or are you firmly on team brush for foundation/base products? Are there any other tips you want to share about using your blending sponges?

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

The Lust List: May 2016 || Beauty 101: Concealer || Are we following each other on Bloglovin’? || Birchbox May 2016 “For the Dreamers” Unboxing || Look Incredible Beauty Box – May 2016! || Urban Decay Alice Through the Looking Glass Palette and Lipsticks – First Impressions and Swatches! || Mini Makeup Haul!|| Review: Sleek Solstice Highlight Palette!

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Also send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

 

89 thoughts on “The Best Beauty Blending Sponge?? Beauty Blender VS Real Techniques VS Spectrum Collections!

  1. Rochelle says:

    I made an order on the beauty bay website on black friday but needed to spend £3.00 more in order to get free shipping so I ordered this sponge and i’m excited to try. I tried RT and didn’t love it so I hope this one is better for me

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

