How To Look Your Best In Summer? 9 Essential Tips To Beat The Heat!

Hi my lovelies,

Summer starts at the beginning of June for me, even though most of the time we don’t get the best of the weather here in England.  I thought this post could be all about some beauty tips and tricks for summer, as we’re now heading towards to warmer months and it really pays off to be prepared!

cats

Here are my nine top tips for staying bright and beautiful in summer!

 

  • Stay Hydrated

A really important thing to do in summer is make sure you drink plenty of water. Not only do we need to replenish all of the moisture cooler weather has stripped away, but as the weather gets warmer, we sweat more which gets rid of both the water and the electrolytes in our body that help keep our skin looking great! Our skin is mostly made of water, so it makes sense to drink water throughout the day. Water can also help to flush out toxins and bad things from our skin (i.e. that Twix I ate at lunch today) and give your skin a healthy glow! I like to drink Smart Water as it has those all important electrolytes in it to help give you a boost, and I always keep some water in my bag when I’m out. I was told that when you’re thirsty, it means you’re already dehydrated, so it’s best to keep drinking water to stay hydrated throughout the day!

  • Moisturise, Moisturise, Moisturise!

 

You might think that you can stop with the moisturising as winter is over.You’d be wrong. Moisturising is key in warmer months just as much as winter, as hot weather can dry out skin, and the sun can dehydrate and age skin, too! Look for a lighter formula as opposed to heavy creams as too much product + sweat = not good. A lot of people like to switch up their foundations for a tinted moisturiser or BB cream come the warmer months. This is a great option, as you get moisture and coverage in one product! Look for a moisturiser with SPF in it for a double hit of goodness!

  • Bring out the mattifying products!

If you’re prone to getting oily like me, then now is definitely the time to bring out your blotting papers, powders and sprays to get rid of the potential oil slick on your face. Warmer weather means you’re sweating more, and if you’re not careful you could sweat some of the product off of your face, not to mention looking greasy and shiny (and not in a good, glowey way)! Try using oil free makeup and skincare, and make setting spray/powder your best friend! I like to keep some blotting papers in my handbag for touch ups on the go if i’m feeling a tad oily, and they make so much difference!

  • Don’t forget the SPF!

Even if you think that it’s not hot enough for sunscreen, but the sun does its damage whether it’s sweltering out or not! The damage that sun does to your skin can have long term effects, including premature ageing skin, wrinkles and dark spots, as well as more serious problems such as melanoma. Also in the short term, you get sun burn, and nobody wants that! In other words, protect your skin from the sun with SPF! If you’re not keen on adding yet another step to your routine, look for a foundation or moisturiser with SPF in it to minimise the amount of product you’re using! There are loads of options for sun protection, and lots of skincare brands have their own products as part of their range!

  • De-Frizz those locks!

I’m prone to frizziness all through the year, but it really steps up its game in summer when the weather is hot and humid and an all around nightmare for my hair.
If you’re blessed with naturally straight hair, no need to worry, but if not: bring out your lotions and potions to help keep that mane tame! I like to use a serum or balm like John Frieda’s Frizz Ease Extra Strength Serum, as well as a heat protecting spray if i’m using hot tools. I also like to bring out a leave in conditioning spray to help my hair stay glossy and smooth during summer. Everyone will have different needs and there are hundreds of products out there to suit everyone!

  • Bring out the Brights!

Summer is a time to get bright, and not just with fashion choices! The sun is out, and everyone is feeling happier, and bright colours make us feel great! I love to experiment with brighter clothes in summer, and brighter makeup choices too! Have you been waiting to wear that coral lippy all year? How about that purple eyeliner you bought or the blue shadows in a palette you’ve avoided wearing during colder months? Bring them out of hiding and show everyone your bright, bold side!

  • Swap out your beauty routine!

In colder months we slap on creams and lotions just to make our skin feel hydrated, and heavier, cooler toned makeup to reflect the wintry weather. Summer is the time to switch it up and opt for lighter products, so we’re not clogging up our skin with too many or thick products! Opt for a lighter moisturiser instead of a thick cream, or switch to a liquid face wash to freshen skin up. Makeup wise, maybe try out a lighter coverage foundation or BB/CC cream/Tinted moisturiser, and some fresher brighter products. Using a 3-in-1 product like Laura Mercier’s Oil Free Tinted Moisturiser can really help cut down on product, as it has coverage, moisturiser and SPF to hydrate,protect and give a little boost to your skin without being heavy or cakey!

  • Take care of those tootsies

We all want to wear our pretty sandals and flip flops when it’s warmer, after months of wearing heavier boots and shoes. It’s around this time that I realise I haven’t taken good care of my feet for a while, so It’s time to whip out that foot lotion and pumice stone and get to work! Sometimes I opt for a pedicure at my local salon, but I try to avoid other people touching my feet most of the time, so I sit down and give them a polish too! Spring Pinks work well on toes, but any polish shade will add a little glam to your toes for showing off in those sandals!

  • Spring clean your products

While it’s not the most fun of tasks, I like to take the time to ‘Spring Clean’ all of my beauty products around this time. This is an opportunity to get rid of all the stuff you’ve been hoarding that’s out of date, off, or just doesn’t get used and doesn’t work for you. Some things can go straight in the bin, others can be given to friends or family, but the main point is to have a clearout of anything lying around that needs to go. As a result you’ll have a smaller, more streamlined collection of products (and an excuse to go out and buy more, if you’re anything like me!)

So these are my main beauty tips for the summer months! What do you guys think? Do you do any of these in summer? What are some of your favourite summer beauty tips or products to use in summer over others? Leave a comment to let me know because I’d love to hear your tips or hacks for a perfect summer!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

May Favourites! || The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? || The Lust List: May 2016 || Beauty 101: Concealer|| Look Incredible Beauty Box – May 2016! || Urban Decay Alice Through the Looking Glass Palette and Lipsticks – First Impressions and Swatches! || Review: Sleek Solstice Highlight Palette!

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Also send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

 

22 thoughts on “How To Look Your Best In Summer? 9 Essential Tips To Beat The Heat!

Leave a Reply

