Winter skincare update – Evening Routine! (Blogmas, Day 22)

Hi my lovelies,

If you saw my morning skincare update a few days back, you’ll be expecting this post! I’m sharing the ways that I’m switching up my skincare for winter as the weather gets harsher and colder during winter! One thing I’m a real stickler about is my night time routine, and I make sure that I take my makeup off and clean away all the dirt of the day off before I go to bed every night! Here’s my night time routine for winter!

More Blogmas Posts!

If you haven’t seen my morning skincare update, you can find that one here!

22

My night time routine:

20161218_233743

No matter how tired I am or how late it is, I always make sure to take my makeup off, so that’s the first step. If I’m wearing eye makeup, I always use Clinique’s Take the day off for Lids, Lashes and Lips to remove that first as it’s the only thing that really gets rid of everything without pulling a load of my eyelashes with it! It’s definitely the best eye makeup remover I’ve tried.

20161218_233930

Afterwards, I remove the rest of my makeup and cleanse my face with my new Clinique cleansing oil, or if I’m feeling a little lazy, Bioderma micellar wipes. I think the Clinique one gets rid of more dirt and makeup than the wipes but adds extra effort in the evening.  If it’s been a particularly oily skin day or I’ve had heavy makeup on, I’ll double cleanse and use some plain ol’ soap afterwards.

20161218_234112

I  skip the toner at night and move straight onto moisturiser. Night time is where my skin can gain all the moisture back that I lose during the day, so I go for a heavier moisturiser at night. For a while now I’ve been using Doublebase Gel from my doctor – it’s recommended for those with psoriasis or patchy dry skin. Psoriasis runs in my family and I tend to get very dry patches across my body and this cream works for that, but you can use it on your face, too. Normally I only use this when my combi skin gets very dry (a.k.a in winter) as if my skin is oilier this doesn’t really help with spots or breakouts so i tend to use a lighter moisturiser. In winter however, it’s super hydrating.

20161218_234204

Since getting it in my advent calendar, I’ve also been using the Kiehls Midnight Recovery concentrate too! I want my skin to look healthy, clear and glowing and I’ve really noticed a change since starting to use this. Yes, it’s adding extra oil to my skin at night time, but in winter that doesn’t really phase me as my skin tends to be drier at this time of year.

Lastly, I whack on lots of lip balm before bed as I’m partial to a matte lip and this leaves my lips really dry and not very nice. I’m not fussy about lip balms, but the Fresh lip balm from November’s Look Incredible box is great, and you can never go wrong with vaseline lip balms!

So that’s how I’ve been looking after my skin this winter. It’s all about making sure my skin doesn’t dry out in winter, as the dry part of my combination skin really does take it’s toll in the colder months. What are your skincare routines this winter? Have you switched it up or are you sticking to tried and tested routines throughout the year? If you have any night time beauty products you love, tell me in the comments as I’m always looking for something new!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

 Selfridges Beauty Advent Calendar  – All the unboxings so far! 

Winter skincare update – Morning routine || Look Incredible Beauty Box – December 2016 ||Lush Mini reviews! || Birchbox December 2016 & Why I’m Cancelling! ||  Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter || The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

If you’d like to, send me an email over at jessica.purcell.1992@gmail.com and I’d love to chat with you about all things beauty!

Ciao for now,

footer

2 thoughts on “Winter skincare update – Evening Routine! (Blogmas, Day 22)

Leave a Reply

