Birchbox December 2016 Unboxing – My Last Box & Why I’m Cancelling! (Blogmas, day 14)

Hi My lovelies,

Today’s post is all about my final Birchbox of the year, and my last box for the time being! I’m cancelling after December’s box,  think new year, new start kind of thing. After getting Birchbox for a full year, I’ve come to the realisation that I’m never 100% impressed with the box, or there’s some sort of mistake or error, or there are products in there which are completely unsuitable for me. So I’m starting off January without my Birchbox subscription! Regardless, December’s box is actually pretty good and almost made me reconsider my decision to quit for now (apart from a problem I’ll address below), so let’s see what was inside!

14

20161213_232348

This month is Christmas themed, and Birchbox always bring out the best at this time of year which is why I’ve stuck it out for this box. The box is a strange design this month, pretty plain but opens up like a storage box, which could be handy to keep pens or makeup brushes in (although I like the drawer style boxes better!)

 More about Birchbox || Want to sign up?

So what was in my box this month?

20161213_232550

  • Ciate London – Fierce Flicks Eyeliner

20161213_232727

Everyone got one of these in their boxes this month, and as a big fan of Ciate products (both nails and makeup) I was really pleased that this was in there. It’s a felt tip style liner, but has a bit of give to it so you can be precise and gentle to get a super thin liquid line. I wore this yesterday, and it looked very black and stayed all day until I took it off without smudging and minimal fade. At £15, I reckon I’ll be buying this again in the future.

  • Bobbi Brown (!!) – Smokey Eye Mascara

20161213_2327500

It’s a wondrous day when Bobbi Brown appears in a beauty box, If only Birchbox could give us brands like this every month! I’m wearing this today and although I still like my Benefit Roller Lash best, this is a pretty good alternative! This has a fibre brush instead of a rubberised one, and gives me loads of volume! Pretty pricey on the mascara front as the full size of this is £23, but depending on how good it is I could splurge!!

  • Percy & Reed  – Wonder Balm

20161213_232824

This is supposed to be a one stop shop for hair styling  – less frizz, more definitely, sleek and moisturised hair – the works! Percy and Reed is a pretty pricey hair brand, with 75ml of this going for £18, making this sample worth a hair over £7, and it’s pretty decently sized. I like getting hair products in these boxes, so I’m looking forward to using this.

  • Anatomicals – Coconut + Mango Body Lotion

20161213_2329110

We go from super expensive (Bobbi Brown) to super affordable in this box! This body lotion from anatomicals has a sweet mango and coconut scent, and hopefully will be really moisturising and non greasy! It also has loads of vitamin E in there too. I can’t help but think it’s a little too budget friendly for a box that’s supposedly a luxe treat every month, though.

I was also supposed to get a Benefit Porefessional in there, but alas, no fifth product. This is part of the reason that I’m cancelling – I think I’ve had to contact customer services maybe five or six times in my year of getting Birchbox with a problem I’ve had which is not the best really. I’ve had wrong products in my box, missing products and damaged products as well as items I don’t think are very good or suitable for me (such as fake tan. Twice.)

So that’s my Birchbox for December – hopefully my missing Porefessional will turn up soon! It’s my last for a while as I’m cancelling my subscription for now at least. I’ve had a good run I reckon, I’ve discovered some great brands through Birchbox, and I’ve also had some god awful products too! If you get Birchbox, what did you get in yours this month, and have you tried any of these products before?

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

 Selfridges Beauty Advent Calendar –  Days 1,2,3 / Days 4,5,6 /Days 7,8,9/Days 10,11,12 || The Lust List: December 2016! || How I Spent My Birthday + Manchester Haul!! || November Faves & Fails! ||  Gift Guide: Beauty Stocking Fillers!  ||  Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter || The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

If you’d like to, send me an email over at jessica.purcell.1992@gmail.com and I’d love to chat with you about all things beauty!

Ciao for now,

footer

15 thoughts on “Birchbox December 2016 Unboxing – My Last Box & Why I’m Cancelling! (Blogmas, day 14)

  1. Beauty and The Ballroom says:

    The Percy & Reed product is lovely. I got it in my Birchbox at some point. I saw the year out of my subscription then cancelled. I like the idea of it, but even though I filled my profile in, I was getting items not really suitable for me…..a moisturiser for really dry skin…ummmm…pretty sure I said I am oily/combo! lol I’d like to try another subscription, just not sure which one yet 🙂 Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

