How I spent my Birthday + Manchester Haul! (Blogmas, Day 7)

Hi my lovelies!

I’m back with another blogmas post! I’m getting pretty good at this blogging every day malarky, even though it’s taken lots and lots of prep and post writing, brainstorming etc. Today’s post is all about how I spent my birthday last week, and what I bought while I was in Manchester!

More Blogmas Posts!

7

Okay, so every birthday for the past four or five years, I’ve taken the day off and gone to the christmas markets in Manchester, just me and my mum. It’s a tradition now! This year was no different and off we went bright and early to catch our train. It’s about 45 minutes into Manchester from where we live, but it’s worth the trip to do some serious shopping and have that ever so lovely mulled wine (or amaretto hot chocolate, yum!) before having some food!

20161130_191234-tile

20161130_184148

We always hit all the stalls, and manage to get lost every time trying to find our way to the town hall and Spinningfields and we stuck to the tradition this time but with a twist as we found our way there quite easily, but then couldn’t find our way back! Our time was mostly spent browsing the stalls and trying to keep warm – we didn’t get much from the markets, but my mum bought a beautiful silver ring at the Affleck’s pop up in the town hall (and I would have bought a dress if they had it in my size)

 

20161130_132038

We went for lunch at Frankie & Bennys as Spinningfields was absolutely heaving, and we know we both like the food and atmosphere in there – we’ll have to save the crazy cocktails at Alchemist for next time we’re in town! After a bit more shopping (or a lot more shopping… oops) we headed back towards the markets near the train station for a bit of Mulled Gin for me (which was delicious), Amaretto Mocha for mum, and then a cocktail. Mine was called a Poinsettia and had prosecco, cointreau, cranberry and lime – I will definitely be recreating this at home as it was amazing! Also mini german pancake thingies which were lovely and sweet with powdered sugar on top!

Onto the haul!

Lush:

20161122_233653

I can never walk into a Lush without buying anything, and the new (well newly re-furbished) Arndale store is like a Lush lover’s paradise! I picked up some old faves as well as new products to me and all in all I’m pretty darned happy with my purchases! From L-R: Eau Roma Toner Water, Sleepy Body Lotion (Seriously, go buy this immediately it’s gorgeous!), Salted Coconut Hand Scrub, Snow Fairy Shower Gel, Rose Jam Shower Gel.

Selfridges

20161122_234616

I love walking around with the little Selfridges bags – It just makes me feel super posh! Anyone else? Anyway, I go for my Clinique at Selfridges because of their Clinique By Invitation scheme that gives reward gifts at certain stages, and guess what? I completed my card and my seven stamp gift is on it’s way! I purchased some Take the Day Off products this time around – I’m trying their Cleansing Oil to give my skin much needed moisture this winter, and my old faithful Take The Day Off eye makeup remover as I’m almost out! Clinique are really good with the freebies, so I got a mini cleansing balm, a 10ml Smart Serum, a mini Pep Start eye cream, and a mini Chubby Lash mascara too completely free! Thanks Robyn!20161120_180105

Hotel Chocolat

I doubt that anyone loves Hotel Chocolat Salted Caramel buttons more than I do right now – the chocolate here is honestly some of the best I’ve ever had. Anyway, I had to nip in for a box of Marzipan for my nan and picked up some more of these, and they’re delicious. We ate most of them on the train home!

Boots

20161206_234013

I always manage to spend all my money in Boots, and this was no exception! I went back to the Clinique counter as I forgot to get my foundation, and picked up a new Collection Lasting Perfection concealer, some Bioderma makeup wipes and some Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Body Buttercream.

Waterstones20161206_233811

Three books from Waterstones this trip, I just can’t help myself! First up is After Alice by Gregory Maguire – the same author that wrote Wicked! Alice in Wonderland is basically my favourite thing ever so I knew i had to buy this twist on the traditional fairy tale. I also picked up a new copy of The Great Gatsby as my copy is falling to bits with pages sellotaped in and everything. I love the look of the cover for this version too! Lastly my love of Sci Fi and Ray Bradbury novels rears it’s ugly head yet again as I bought a copy of Something Wicked This Way Comes. This one’s more on the fantasy side, but I love Bradbury’s writing style so this is coming with me on holiday!

 

Everything Else!

I love this sparkly top that I bought from New Look! It’s fully sequinned, and is black with silver stars all over! This is going to be perfect for over the festive period, adding that but of extra sparkle to Christmas parties! I also got these super cute giraffe pyjamas from Boux Avenue – I need some nice holiday PJ’s for when I go on holiday next month, and these will do nicely. Giraffes are my favourite animals too.

As well as these, I may have picked up a few Christmas presents for certain people that may or may not read this post, so I’m leaving those out, but I hope they make fab gifts!

I had such a fun day out and really enjoyed my birthday this year – the weather was great and I saw my friends at the weekend for a local Comic-Con and a meal which was really fun too! Let me know if you want to see a review of anything I bought while I was out – and thank you to everyone who wished me a happy birthday! If you’ve tried any of these products before let me know what you think of them, and also do you have any traditions that you do on your birthday every year? If you do I’d love to know!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

November Faves & Fails!|| Gift Guide: Beauty Stocking Fillers! || Selfridges Beauty Advent Calendar –  Days 1,2,3 || Birchbox Sneak Peek – December || Counting Down to Christmas with the Selfridges Beauty Advent Calendar! ||  Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter||  The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||ubscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

If you’d like to, send me an email over at jessica.purcell.1992@gmail.com and I’d love to chat with you about all things beauty!

Ciao for now,

footer

13 thoughts on “How I spent my Birthday + Manchester Haul! (Blogmas, Day 7)

Leave a Reply

