Birchbox October 2016 – What’s Your Sign?

Hi my lovelies,

Today’s (rather belated, sorry!) post is all about my Birchbox for October. I don’t know whether it’s just me, but I’m become a little disappointed with my Birchboxes lately and I’m considering cancelling my subscription soon. It’s only £13 every month including postage, but I’m not sure I’m enjoying it as much as I used to – does anyone else feel like this?

First off, I want to apologise for not blogging or even being around for the last couple of weeks. Do you ever have those times where everything catches up with you all at once, and you feel like you don’t even have time to sleep and eat, let alone have spare time to do things you enjoy? That, plus work stress and a few days of not being very well at all, and you end up with two weeks without a blog post. So I’m sorry for not being here, and to those interested in collab-ing with me on a post, I swear I haven’t forgotten about you! I’ll be emailing as soonas I get the chance!

20161017_180211

Anyway, October’s box design is gorgeous, and the drawer style box seems to be sticking, which is great! I’m a Sagittarius, meaning I got the Fire sign style box this month; and while I don’t really hold any belief in psychics or starsigns, I am a pretty fiery person – so  think it does reflect me. The little stars on the box are actually glow in the dark too, which I love but I reckon those who need complete darkness to sleep won’t be too happy!

Last month’s box was pretty good -I loved (and I mean loved) the Nuxe shower oil and the Bioderma moisturiser, but I have little good things to say about the  Batiste volume spray (really, really not good for my hair!). October is a bit of a mixed bag – I actually squealed at one of the products in here, but was ridiculously disappointed with a couple others. Let’s see what was In my box, shall we?

August’s Birchbox || July’s Birchbox || More about Birchbox || Want to sign up?

So what was in my box this month?

20161017_180406

  • Oribe – Dry Texturising Spray

20161017_181001

We’ll start with something I was most excited to see, and work backwards, shall we? I literally squealed when I saw this in my box this month as I’ve heard such great things about it! Part dry shampoo, part volumising spray, this is a luxury product with a luxury price tag to boot! The full size of this is around the £40 mark which is huge money to spend on hair products for me! I’ve only used this once so far (I’m savouring it while I have it) but this gives me texture and volume without frizziness and crunchiness that almost all sprays like this do! Love it!

  • Lord & Berry – Maxi Matte Lipstick Crayon in Intimacy

20161017_1810500

First off, this shade is absolutely gorgeous on me – like a your lips but better mauvey pink. I really like the formula, and that it’s matte but not flat or drying on me – a huge plus. This is my first Lord & Berry product and I do like this a lot, apart from the whole you have to sharpen it thing. I’m a lazy girl at heart, and these sharpenable lipsticks just aren’t going to cut it with me – retractable please!

  • Doux Me – Pure Spring Mist

20161017_180840

If I wasn’t going to the Caribbean in January my reaction to this would probably be much worse, but I don’t hate this. For what is essentially overpriced water in a tin, It’s instantly refreshing and cooling for my skin – I’ve only used this once to make sure I liked it, and it’s gone straight into my “things to take on holiday” bag.

  • Number 4 – Fluoro5 Elixir Restore & Repair Oil

20161017_181213

Two hair products in this box – I really love getting hair stuff so that’s great for me! Hair oils are a new find for me as I always worried about putting oils in my hair before drying it, but as I normally let my hair air dry unless I’m heading out straight away I’ve been loving them lately. I’ve started using a pure argan oil, especially on the ends of my hair, and there’s been considerable improvement! This one is teeny tiny, but definitely going to get used up!

  • Birchbox – Eyebrow Brush

20161017_1811220

Now onto the couple of products that I am seriously disappointed in with this month’s box. First up is this comb style brow brush. Now I, like many others nowadays use a spoolie brush on a daily basis to tame my brows into shape, so I immediately dismissed this as something I won’t use often, but the quality of the brush made it something that I won’t use at all and probably will end up in the bin very soon (like a certain Elizabeth Arden brush in last month’s Look Incredible). It’s very plasticky and synthetic, and feels very scratchy when I use it – not something I want! Now Birchbox only value this at £1.99, so it was never going to be amazing, but this is just plain bad.

  • NKD Skin – Daily Tan Moisturiser

20161017_180902

I don’t know how many times I have to tell Birchbox that I hate tanning products and they might as well send me nothing at all than self tan. Regardless, while other people are getting nice body scrubs and creams, I get this. Paler than paper me who doesn’t even suit a tan gets this. I’m not a happy bunny and this will be going straight to a friend who’ll get some use out of this (although how much good self tan in October is, I’m not sure.)

So that was this month’s Birchbox – really hit and miss with products I like and hate equally. I do feel as though the boxes haven’t been as good as almost a year ago when I started to subscribe, although that may just be me. What do you guys think? If you get Birchbox, did you enjoy yours this month, or do you feel disappointed? I am really happy with the hair products though, so that’s one thing!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

A Rather Successful TK Maxx Haul! || September Faves & Fails || Sneak Peek – Birchbox October 2016! || Ultimate Sephora Wishlist Tag! || Review: Perfect Pamper Box! || The Lust List – September!|| An Update on my Colourpop Haul! ||  Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter|| The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

If you’d like to, send me an email over at jessica.purcell.1992@gmail.com and I’d love to chat with you about all things beauty!

Ciao for now,

footer

7 thoughts on “Birchbox October 2016 – What’s Your Sign?

  1. stashy says:

    Too bad abou their insistence on sending you tanning products! Will you be emailing them to advise them?
    The Oribe spray hopefully made this box worthwhile! I tested it in store and I really want to buy a full size… smells amazing!
    You’re right, the box itself is gorgeous! I could stare at that for hours!

    Liked by 1 person

    • beautybyjessblog says:

      I love the box design – definitely a keeper! I sent Birchbox an email and got the standard “we’re sorry you’re not happy blah blah” response back, and that they’ll look into adding an opt in to tan in the future – which would be great! I looove the Oribe spray though, and surprisingly the spray water thingy is really really nice! xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

