(Slightly Belated) September Faves & Fails!

Hi my lovelies,

Happy October! We’re now into autumn (my favourite season!) , my jumpers and sweatshirts have come back into my clothes rotation as the weather turns colder, and I have my eye on a brand new pair of boots! The slow cooker is coming in handy with warming food and soups, and I get to switch up my beauty routine! Also: Halloween!! The transition from summer to autumn has been less than smooth (the weather can’t make up it’s mind), and my skin has been suffering a little lately – today we’re here to talk about the good and the bad for September, so let’s get stuck in!

september-faves

The Faves

20161004_185923

  • Zoeva Cocoa Blend Palette

This eyeshadow palette is not only gorgeous, it has super staying power and the shadows buttery and not too powdery. Basically, it’s the perfect autumn palette! With rich, warm brows and a few statement shades too (that raspberry shade though) I’ve been reaching for this over my other shadows a lot this month!

  • TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer

A cult fave – and with good reason! I reckon this golden highlighter is universally flattering, from pale as paper skin tones like me, through the entire spectrum right to very deep skin tones. It’s pigmented, but blends out to a subtle ‘lit from within’ glow if you want it to. Quality wise, the Mary-lou Manizer is soft and buttery, which lends itself to looking gorgeous on the cheekbones, and not picking up much on the texture on my skin! Well worth the money!

20161004_190111

  • Makeup Geek Blush in Valentine

My first MUG product, and definitely not my last! The formula on this is to die for, so buttery and soft, but lasts forever – a problem I have with some blushes is their staying power, but this has it in spades! I’m a big fan of rosy pink blush shades, and this is just right – a bit of advice though, don’t be heavy handed or you’ll look like a clown as this is really pigmented.

  • Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Magick

I got this in my very first Love Me Beauty subscription last month, and this has become one of my most used lipsticks! It feels a little weird to apply, as there’s glitter built into this shade, but the colour is so gorgeous and wearable, and I’m a huge fan of the formula, as it’s matte but not drying or uncomfortable! Plus it’s super cute and tiny!

  • OPI Nail Polish in I’m Gown For Anything

I’m trying to take care of my nails lately as I’m a nail biter  (it’s a habit I can’t seem to shake), and I tend to be less inclined to bite my nails if there is a polish on them. This one has been just the ticket for September, as pastel pink is a fab shade for transitioning into autumn – plus again, tiny and cute.

20161004_190243

  • Bioderma Hydrabio Gel-Creme Moisturiser

Hallelujah to the moisturiser gods! I’ve been trying to find a night time moisturiser that rivals the super expensive Clinique turnaround I got a sample of, and this one is perfect! This, in conjunction with the Clinique serum (below) has really brightened up my skin and reduced texture on my face over the last few weeks. I got this in my Birchbox for September and I’m in love with this! It’s packed with skin smoothing salicylic acid and give me hydration without being greasy, and it’s just all around good for my sensitive skin.

  • Clinique Turnaround Revitalising Serum

If you asked me to pick my absolute favourite skincare item at the moment, I would tell you 100% this serum! I got this as part of the Clinique by invitation reward system at Selfridges (it’s soooo worth it if you buy Clinique regularly) after a consultation from the lovely girl at the counter, and it has changed my skin for the better. I feel like my skin is smoother, softer and SO much more radiant after using this serum – it’s also oil free, and just glides and sinks in to my skin so easily. A pricey but well worth it repurchase when I run out!

  • Origins Out of Trouble Mask

I’ve professed my love for this mask before, and I’m doing it again! Gone is the tiny sample pack and I’ve replaced it with a full sized tube of this wondrous mask! My skin is combination, so when I have my oily patches I can get redness, blemishes and spots which is not what I want for my skin. This mask from Origins sorts me out easily by calming and soothing my skin, and helping my bad skin clear up! Love love love this and can’t recommend it enough.

  • Puriskin Nurse Aid Cream for Hands and Nails

Another Birchbox find, this has been living in my handbag for the last few weeks and I’m almost to the bottom! My hands dry out really easily, especially as the weather gets colder, and this is a lovely, non-greasy hand cream that I’ve been using a lot. Great for popping in my handbag as again, cute and tiny (there’s a theme developing here).

  • Yankee Candle in Autumn Night

img_20160924_191323

Autumn is here and so are the autumnal scented candles! This is the one I’ve been keeping on my fireplace and burning on cold evenings, and it fills my living room with gorgeous warming, woodsy scents that I love! It’s a new one for this year – so if you’re near a Yankee shop I highly recommend going in and smelling this!

  • Marvel’s Daredevil

Image result for daredevil season 1

My TV fave for September is Daredevil on Netflix! I’m a Marvel girl at heart (though I love Batman) and I love that this is gritty and dark with real human issues as well as the “superhero” elements. The way that at points in the series you’re not exactly sure who you’re rooting for is really well done, and Vincent D’Onofrio’s Wilson Fisk (Kingpin) is so terrifyingly human that I both fear him and worry for him at the same time. I’m onto season two now and seriously enjoying it – anyone else?

20160914_124041

  • Ray Bradbury – Fahrenheit 451

This is the book I always go back to again and again – my beat up copy with paged taped in is a testament of that! A cult classic that follows the tale of Fireman Guy Montag (that’s setting fires, not putting them out) in a dystopian future? where books are banned. It’s one of my faves and so easy to read but leaves me with new questions every time.

  • Costa Coffee!

I’m almost done with my accounting qualification (yay) with just a dissertation style project left to complete. My classes have been switched from morning to afternoons, so I’ve been enjoying a weekly Costa Coffee vanilla latte before my class on a wednesday. Normally I’m a tea drinker, but I’m partial to a latte and I’m going to say it – Costa is better than Starbucks (sorry SB lovers). Anyone else feel the same way?

The Fails

Everything can’t be great, and I have three beauty fails this month, along with a tv show I really didn’t enjoy. Two of my beauty fails are sadly from my Look Incredible box, so I’m hoping this month has a better offering from them.

20161004_190420

  • Clinique Pep Start Hydroblur Moisturiser

You know I can’t resist a Clinique new release. right? This moisturiser immediately stuck out as a ‘need to have’ product for me. I mean, a moisturiser that is mattifying and hydrating, and acts as a primer too – it sounds like a dream for lazy girls like me. However, after using this for about two weeks and wondering why my skin was was looking worse than normal I narrowed it down to this. It didn’t mattify oil, but what it did was create a weird barrier where the oil was trapped in my skin and made me break out – not cute! It does hold up as a primer, and did smooth out my pores and my makeup stayed well enough, but I’m definitely not prepared to sacrifice my skin for it.

  • Make Up For Ever Uplight Liquid Luminizer

Two words: Glitter Nightmare. I’m normally a fan of liquid highlighters, (The Stila one is great and I like the GOSH ones from the drugstore) but this just has WAY too much glitter rather than shimmer to look good. Because of this, it looks weird mixed with foundation, and on it’s own it’s just too glittery for my liking, and I can’t work out a way for this to look good. Also, the pump is useless as it only dispenses about triple the product than you actually need.

  • Elizabeth Arden Makeup Blending Brush

This may be just about the worst makeup sponge type applicator I’ve ever used. It’s a huge disappointment for me, as I’m usually really happy with brushes in general. This is inflexible, hard, and has none of the great qualities that my beauty blender has. I tried this a couple of times, and it made my foundation extremely patchy and was pretty awkward to use if I’m honest. It did nothing to blend out concealer either, and just kind of took a lot of product away from my face while I was trying to get it less streaky. Not something I’ll ever use again and it very well may just go in the bin!

Image result for hunters tv show

  • Hunters

Okay, I’ll give anything a fair shot if the premise sounds interesting. Secret government agency hunting terrorist aliens? – Sounds like just my cup of tea. Believe me when I say if you have a weak stomach stay well away from this, It’s gruesome and violent in the special effects (to the point the cushion was over my face and I couldn’t look at the tv) but is backed up by a less than spectacular plot and is a little boring. One to give a miss (unless you love really bad tv in a non ironic way)

|| August’s Faves & Fails! || July’s Faves & Fails ||

So these are all my faves and fails for September! I always try and mix it up and tell you about my non-beauty faves and fails too, give it a bit of variety! If you want to see a full review of anything here, let me know and I’ll get working on it! What do you guys think of my faves (and my fails) this month and have you tried any of these before and did you have the same experience as me with them? Also, is there anything in your faves that I should try in October? Let me know!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

Sneak Peek – Birchbox October 2016! || Ultimate Sephora Wishlist Tag! || Review: Perfect Pamper Box! || The Lust List – September!|| Review: Lush Eau Roma Toner Water|| Beauty Top 5 – Face Masks!  || An Update on my Colourpop Haul! ||  Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter|| The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

6 thoughts on “(Slightly Belated) September Faves & Fails!

  1. stashy says:

    That Zoeva Cocoa Blend Palette is stunning! I’ve not tried any Makeup Geek items but I heard the new blushes are nice.
    Too bad about that Elizabeth Arden sponge – I was curious about that style of blenders.

    Like

Leave a Reply

