Look Incredible Beauty Box – September 2016 Edition!

Hi my lovelies,

I’ve been getting Look Incredible for a good eight months now, and it definitely does not disappoint when it comes to value for money! Sometimes the products are a bit hit and miss, but I’m mostly really excited and happy with September’s contents!

20160913_194219

Like last month, gone is the cheaper looking sticker and we now have gorgeous gold embossed lettering and a pretty little ribbon on the box, which just adds to my enjoyment of the box. It’s the little things, right? Last month’s box had one of my fave items I’ve ever received in a beauty box – the Nars sheer lip treatment (basically a tinted balm)! £15 for what is essentially a lip balm is a lot to me, but I’m definitely not going back after this!

If you  don’t know about Look Incredible, it’s a monthly beauty subscription service that for £18.99 (now plus £2.50 postage), promises to deliver you five full sized beauty products every month. They’ve had the likes of Tarte, Bare Minerals, Smashbox, Stila and Nars in previous boxes, and are pretty makeup heavy instead of more skincare items, so If you want to try some new makeup without paying the full price, this one is for you!

Interested? Find out more at lookincredible.co.uk/products/beautybox

Want to see what was in previous boxes? Here are August July,  June, and May‘s boxes!

What’s in the box for September?

20160913_194509

  • Laura Geller Color Enriched Lipstick in Cabernet Crush (RRP £16)

20160913_194649

As autumn creeps in, I’m looking more to deeper, warmer lipsticks, and this one does just the job! I’ve only ever used a few Laura Geller products in the past, but it’s a really reputable brand, and I’m definitely looking forward to wearing this lipstick! It looks really dark in the bullet, but is a little bit sheerer when applied, which I like as it makes it a lot more versatile. I don’t really notice any major scent with this (good for my sensitive skin) even though the little card says these are wine scented. I can see this being a staple shade for me in the months to come, and I especially like the “Love, Laura” stamped into the side of the lipstick for a bit of added cuteness!

  • Borghese Superiore State-of-the-Art Mascara (RRP £14)

20160913_195254

A completely new brand to me, this mascara from Borghese looks more like a product I’d see on my nan’s dressing table more than my own (no offence). Packaging aside, this is my fourth Mascara (fifth lash product) in eight boxes and I’m getting a little bit sick of them. Nevertheless, I’ll definitely give this a go, as the natural fibre wand looks like a good one for a more simple makeup day. Reading up on this tells me that it’s good for sensitive eyes (which I have), and it’s meant to give voluminous lashes, which I’m all up for. I’ll forgive the frumpy packaging if this is a good mascara, but I really wish Look Incredible would mix it up a little and send me less mascaras.

  • Too Faced Exotic Colour Eyeshadow in Frilly Lily (RRP £15)

20160913_195440

Too Faced is a brand that we’re all familiar with by now, and most of us love. So I’m always happy to see this brand in a beauty box! I haven’t tried their shadows before (I know, soon hopefully), so I’m glad to give this one a go. Frilly Lily is an ice white glitter shade. And when I say glitter, I mean Glitter with a capital G. On first look I thought “what a beautiful highlight shade”, while on first swatch it actually turned into “glitter explosion”. That being said, I think this will make a great dramatic, centre of the lid glittery shadow (though I’ll definitely need a glitter glue/primer, any recommendations?) Haven’t worn this on my eyes yet, but I’ll let you guys know how it goes!

  • Make Up For Ever Uplight Luminizer (RRP £25)

20160913_195043

My very first Make Up For Ever product!! I’m super excited about this, are you? This Uplight luminizer is a water based gel highlighter that can either be worn alone or mixed into foundation for a “glowing from within” sort of look. I’ll be honest, I was a little worried about the colour on my pale as paper skin, but blended out this actually looks great! It’s a more coppery shade of highlight which I didn’t think would work for me but gives a lovely natural glow – a heads up, using the tiniest amount of this is enough! I do have a couple of issues with this though. Blended out this is beautiful, but as it fades throughout the day it leaves behind a trail of glitter on my face, which I’m not the keenest on. Also, there is no control in the pump whatsoever. You may need only a tiny amount, but lots comes out of the pump no matter how gently you try to push it down – a little wasteful in my opinion.

  • Elizabeth Arden Makeup Blender Brush (RRP £10)

20160913_194951

Elizabeth Arden is a brand that I’ve associated with my mum since I was little. She used to wear Red Door perfume every day while I was growing up, and I’ve not ever used the brand myself, so this is a little blast from the past for me. I’ve always thought this style of brush was a little strange, essentially a beauty blender on a stick. You guys know that I’m all about that honesty and I’ll tell you if something is bad. Truth is, I really do not like this brush (can I still call it a brush?) It’s too stiff and doesn’t give me the flexibility or softness that my Beauty Blender has. It’s hard even when damp,  difficult to blend my makeup with, and it’s a good job that I was at home testing this out as it made my foundation so patchy and streaky that I wouldn’t have left the house looking like that.  Basically, don’t go out and buy this, it’s not worth your money or your time.

Swatches!

20160913_195529

L-R: Laura Geller Lipstick, MUFE Luminizer, Too Faced Shadow

Total Value of September’s Box – £80! 

So that’s it for this month’s Look Incredible Beauty Box! I’ll admit I’ve definitely had better boxes than this, and there are some hits and misses this month. I’m in love with the Laura Geller lipstick, and , and I’m definitely going to try mixing the MUFE Luminizer into my foundation to see how that works. I’m excited to try the Too Faced shadow properly, too! The blending brush on the other hand is a complete thumbs down.

What do you guys think of this month’s box? It’s just an okay one for me for September, but I’m still going to continue my subscription as I really like the surprise and the choice of brands Look Incredible come out with every month! If you subscribe, what’s your fave part of this month’s box, and did you get anything different to me (product or shade wise)? Also, can anyone recommend a great glitter primer for me?

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

Review: Lush Eau Roma Toner Water || Beauty Top 5 – Face Masks!  || Birchbox September 2016! ||August Faves and Fails! || Beauty Bay Makeup Haul! || The 7 Deadly Sins of Beauty Tag || An Update on my Colourpop Haul! ||  Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter|| The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

 

11 thoughts on “Look Incredible Beauty Box – September 2016 Edition!

  1. Beauty and Me By Aneesa says:

    This month has been one of my least favourite too! I haven’t used the brush/sponge yet but I had high hopes for it! My eyeshadow was smashed 😦 and lol at the comment about the mascara 😁 but honestly in getting sick of them too now i have a load pf mascaras I don’t use!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

