Birchbox September 2016 – “Heroes” Unboxing and First Impressions!

Hi my lovelies,

It’s time for another unboxing of my latest Birchbox! September’s theme is Heroes, and this month Birchbox are helping us celebrate our beauty heroes and find new ones. The drawer style box is back, which I’m super happy about, and I am loving the geometric pastel design for September (Even though my box looks like the delivery person tried and failed to shove it through our letterbox before leaving it with a neighbour).

20160907_182334

Last month’s box wasn’t the best and there were only a couple of things in there (the perfume and the serum) that I was really loving. The dry shampoo I liked, but absolutely hated the scent which puts me off buying it. I’m really considering purchasing  the cute little travel rollerball version as I really like the scent! So September’s box has a lot to do to impress me!

August’s Birchbox || July’s Birchbox || More about Birchbox || Want to sign up?

So what was in my box this month?

20160907_182755

  • Model Co Highlighting Trio (Full Size)

20160907_183604

I’m all about highlight since the beginning of this year, and there was no doubt that I’d be choosing this in my box this month. While the pans are a lot smaller than I expected (seriously, how am I expected to get a brush in there??) and it’s a little more glittery than I’d like, I’m still quite happy with this. The lightest shade makes a lovely brow highlight, and I used the brown one as an eyeshadow today – I’ll report back on how long it lasts, check out instagram or twitter for updates – overall not too bad.

  • Batiste Oomph My Locks XXL Volume Spray (50ml Sample)

20160907_183327

I’m trying to grow my hair a little (it has always been pretty short in the past but i’m getting there slowly) and as my hair gets longer, it gets flatter (but still frizzy). While I was hoping for the Amika volume spray, this will do the trick too to give me a little bit of a boost on my second day hair! Batiste is a brand I’m familiar with and I always grab a can of their dry shampoo when I’m running low, so hopefully I’ll love this! I’ll probably try this out at the weekend!

  • Bioderma Hydrabio Gel Creme Moisturiser (15ml sample)

20160907_183409

If there is one brand I’m super super happy to see in my box this month, It’s Bioderma! I’ve been using the Sensibio micellar cleanser for a couple of months and I love it, so this is a definite positive inclusion for September! This promises to hydrate and soothe skin, as well as restore skin’s radiance and glow, so it could be a good one for me! I just bought a new mattifying oil controlling moisturiser from Clinique (review soon) for the day, but I’ll stick this in my nightly routine and see how I go on!

  • NUXE Prodigieux Shower Oil (30ml sample)

20160907_1832380

I really don’t know how to describe the scent in this, but I can tell you that I adore how it smells! I’ve wanted to try a NUXE product for ages, and I was really intrigued by the concept of a shower oil, and swatched on my hand this feels more silky than a regular shower gel, and more nourishing to boot. The sample is decently sized, and while I normally stick to Soap & Glory shower products, If I like this I can see myself buying it!

  • Puriskin Nurse Aid Cream For Hands And Nails (sample size)

20160907_183719

I was really unimpressed by this at first – that was until I used it! All I could see was yet another hand cream that wasn’t going to live up to my absolute fave L’Occitane one, but this is pretty great! It’s fragrance free, and not greasy (a real hate of mine, I can’t stand my hands feeling greasy), and this makes my hands feel super soft! I still love the L’Occitane one more, but this is a lovely second! I’ve popped this little tin in my handbag as it’s a nice size to carry around with me!

  • Beauty Bonus: Birchbox Friendship Bracelet

20160907_183038

The stereotype about girls and jewellery is real, especially for me! I think this bonus of a little bracelet is really cute this month, and I’ll definitely be wearing it! It’s a bit of a shame it’s not gold plated at least (I expected it to be with a pricetag of £15, but I couldn’t find a trademark on mine) but I like the fact that this is adjustable as I haven’t got the smallest wrists in the world. It’s just a nice little addition that was unexpected, and I’m always happy to receive jewellery in any context, so yeah.

If you’re interested in trying out Birchbox, Click here to find out more and get £5 worth of points to spend in the Birchbox shop when you subscribe!

All in all, a pretty good box this month! Yes, I was hoping for the Laura Mercier primer, but I’m pretty happy with what I ended up with so far! I’m happiest about trying out the shower oil and moisturiser, and I love the hand cream already! I’d have liked another makeup item in here too, but I’m definitely more positive than I was last month! What do you guys think of my box this month, and if you’re a subscriber did you get anything different from me? What are you most excited about in your boxes this month?

Look out for a Birchbox points haul, and a skincare haul coming up soon from me- there are some great things in there!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

August Faves and Fails! || Beauty Bay Makeup Haul! || The 7 Deadly Sins of Beauty Tag || The Lust List – August || Look Incredible Beauty Box Unboxing – August 2016!|| An Update on my Colourpop Haul! || Review: Grounded Coffee Scrub! ||  Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter|| The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Birchbox September 2016 – “Heroes” Unboxing and First Impressions!

Leave a Reply

