Birchbox August 2016 -“Dive In!” Unboxing and First Impressions!

Hi my lovelies,

We all know I was super happy with last month’s Birchbox, which was great timing as I was debating whether to cancel my subscription. This month’s box is not as great as that one, but there’s a couple of products in here that I’m excited to receive – let’s get into it and look at what I got for August, shall we?

13680688_1062534800463018_268271223828592800_n

August’s theme is Dive In! and features summer (and beach) ready products and comes in a super convenient scuba Birchbag (yes, bag!) this month. The bag is waterproof and a lovely little size for all those beauty essentials (lipstick, powder, hand cream) that I keep in my handbag on a daily basis! The downside – it doesn’t seem like great quality which is disappointing, and the colour is just not my cup of tea at all. It’s sort of that “used to be white but I’ve put it through the wash a few too many times” grey colour that looks weirdly dirty, with a bright highlighter yellow zipper (I’m not mad at that – why couldn’t the whole bag have just been yellow?)

July’s Birchbox || June’s Birchbox || More about Birchbox || Want to sign up?

So what was in my box this month?

20160810_201843

  • Marcelle – Waterproof Eyeliner in Expresso

20160811_232420

While I love eyeliners in general, and this is a really pretty brown shade, I’m not exactly sure I can use this! I was really quite excited about the fact that this is waterproof as eyeliner tends to smudge on me, or disappears from my waterline quickly, But on first swatch on the back of my hand this Marcelle eyeliner tingled on my skin really strongly. That might spell badness for me and my sensitive, allergy prone skin and I’m not sure if I’m willing to take the risk of putting it on my eyes or not, which is a huge shame!

  • Philip Kingsley – One More Day Dry Shampoo

20160811_232059

I’m a massive fan of dry shampoo, and always keep some Batiste in the house at all times, so a dry shampoo (especially a fancy one like this) is a welcome addition to my box this august! I love using dry shampoo on my in between days, just to perk up my hair and give it a bit of light volume without using hairspray, and this is a nice mini, travel friendly size. The full size of this is £14.50, a far cry from my £3 Batiste, so I have super high hopes that this won’t have an awful white cast to it.

  • Balance Me – Congested Skin Serum

20160811_232543

Balance Me is a relatively new brand to me, having only tried a cleanser and an eye cream (from a previous Birchbox), before. I’m really interested in this serum though, as it’s meant to target breakouts and congested skin, to sooth and clear. I have a huge pimple close to my mouth (partly stress, partly chocolate), so I’m definitely giving this a try tonight before bed to see if there’s any difference straight away! The full size of this is only 15ml so relatively speaking this is a pretty large sample, and that makes me happy!

  • Anatomicals – Citrus Body Scrub

20160811_232329

Okay, if you’ve been keeping up with me and my blog for a while, you’ll know I’m obsessed with everything citrusy, especially when it comes to body products. So if there was one thing that suits me to a T in this month’s box, it would be this citrus body scrub from Anatomicals. It smells great, and I’m big on body scrubs lately so can’t  wait to give this a go! I doubt it’ll beat my beloved Soap & Glory scrub, but I’m definitely not mad as this! The only thing I don’t like is the sample size – the full size scrub is only £3.99 so I’m definitely not getting my money’s worth, I would have been way more happy with better product for my pounds!

  • Merci Handy – Antibacterial Hand Cleansing Gel

20160811_232150

A stark contrast to the last product in the box (bag?), I’m really not sure what this is doing in a beauty subscription box. I do use antibacterial hand gel regularly (especially as I’m never sure if I can use the soap in restaurant bathrooms etc.), so it’s something that I’ll use, but I really don’t think it has a place among makeup and skincare as something beauty related. I don’t see hand gel as something nice to receive in a beauty box, and would have preferred a nice hand cream or cuticle oil in the way of hand care instead of this. Not the best, I’m afraid. (also, apologies for the blurry-ish photo! I didn’t realise until I uploaded that it was like this!)

  • Beauty Bonus: English Laundry – Eau De Parfum

20160811_232246

I’m in the process of searching for a new Signature Scent as I’m very nearly out of my absolute fave Vera Wang Princess Night and it’s been discontinued! Luckily I’ve been stocked up on it for ages but I’m down to the bottom of my last bottle now, so I definitely need to find something new! This smells floral and sweet, but not in a “I’m 12 and this is my first real perfume” way. It’s a little bit grown up, and great for summer nights when you’re sitting with friends drinking Pimms in a beer garden. That’s the image I have in my head when I smell this, anyway. It’s a nice little extra, and I really do like the scent – Think I’ll have to do a little more research and lots of perfume smelling before I commit though!

So that was this month’s Birchbox (bag)! Nowhere as good as last month’s in my opinion, but I’m really pleased with the serum and the dry shampoo, and I have high hopes for the body scrub too! What do you guys reckon – does it beat July’s offering for you? If you’re a subscriber and got anything different this month let me know as I’m a giant subscription box addict and they’re some of my fave posts to read!  Also have you tried any of these products before and what do you think of them?

If you’re interested in trying out Birchbox, Click here to find out more and get £5 worth of points to spend in the Birchbox shop when you subscribe!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

Products I’ll always repurchase #1! || July Faves and Fails! || Huge Colourpop Haul! || Review: Sleek Power Plump Lip Pencils!|| Review: Grounded Coffee Scrub!||BritishBeautyBlogger X Origins “Mix&Mask” Beauty Box Review! || The Lust List: July 2016! || Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter|| The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

17 thoughts on “Birchbox August 2016 -“Dive In!” Unboxing and First Impressions!

  1. Cosmetic Obsessive says:

    I got the same as you in birchbox this month and I pretty much agree with everything you said but I found the body “scrub” completely usless as a scrub. There was bearly any granuals in it at all. This is the second month in a row I have been less than thrilled with Birchbox

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

