July Beauty Faves! (And a couple of fails)

Hi my lovelies,

Another month has flown by super quickly, and so I have some more products to share with you that I have been loving over July, and a few that I haven’t! we’ll start off with the positives first, and there are some skincare, some makeup, and as always some random items! Apologies for this post being slightly late, but I’ve been swamped with work this week, and the one day I wasn’t I was out literally the whole day. It’s a long one though, so (hopefully) worth the wait!

In July I also hit a milestone for this blog – 100 posts! So I just want to thank all of you guys for sticking with me so far and I can’t wait to see what the future brings!

20160731_143129-tile.jpg

Let’s get started, shall we?

20160731_143129

  • Indeed Labs Hydraluron Moisture Mask
  • Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight mask 

It’s safe to say that July has been the month of face masks for me, and three of them have cropped up in my faves this month! With the weather being so dry lately, my combination skin has been hating me and so I used every moisturising product in my beauty collection this month to try and combat the dry patches while still not getting too oily and it is a fragile balance, my friends. So I’ve really been loving these two to give my skin the much needed hydration!

  • Origins Out Of Trouble 10 minute mask

Another mask that I have loved using this month has been this one from Origins. It came as part of the Mix & Mask beauty box I got last month, and oh how I wish this little pod was larger! I got two uses out of it, which is pretty good! My skin broke out pretty badly this month (I’ll explain later), so this little wonder was a god send! I’m definitely purchasing the full size!

20160731_143236

  • Grounded Grapefruit Coffee Scrub

Something new to me this month was coffee scrubs, and for a first foray into them, I’m glad I picked up this one from Grounded. It smells amazing, and really has done my skin some good. It’s pretty messy to use, but once you get over the fiddliness it’s smooth (skin) sailing from then on! I can’t wait to try some more coffee scrubs from other brands too, any suggestions?

  • Cutex Strengthening Nail Polish Remover

Does anyone else’s nails feel super weak and breakable after you take your nail polish off? My nails have really taken a battering lately and were in desperate need of a little TLC, so I’ve been using this to remove my polishes over july. My nails feel stronger, and are less likely to break after using this as a combo with my Essie Millionails treatment. It also tastes disgusting, so I’m less likely to bite my nails, too! (I know, super bad habit!)

20160731_143316

  • Morphe M510 Highlighter Brush

This brush is the bomb, y’all! I’ve been using my trusty Smashbox fan brush for what seems like forever to highlight, but this little lovely from Morphe just pips it to the post! It’s small, but really packs a punch, especially if I’m highlighting a smaller area like my cupids bow or along my brow bone. Morphe says this is an eye makeup blending brush, but i’ve been using it to highlight since day one! Big thanks to Manny MUA for helping me find this!

  • Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in Translucent

I’ve been looking for a great pressed powder to keep in my handbag for oil control and after doing a little research, I picked this up from Boots as it was really well rated for a drugstore powder. For just £4 I’ve found a powder that sets my under eye concealer as well as the rest of my makeup flawlessly, and is great to oil blot during the day, especially around my nose where I get the oiliest. It’ll also be great for travel too, as I’m always a little worried about loose powders exploding all over my makeup bag!

  • Revlon Photoready Eye Primer & Brightener

I don’t wear eyeshadow every single day, especially if I’m just going to work or class or just popping to the shops. But I have quite noticeable veins on my eyelids, and I don’t like using concealer to cover them up as it tends too look too thick on my eyes. This is meant as an eye primer, but I’ve been using it on those no shadow days to just cover my veins and make my eyelids look even, It’s slightly pink tinted, and blends really nicely so that’s what I’ve been using it for. Honestly, I haven’t even tried it as a primer yet -oops!

20160731_143438

  • Benefit Gimme Brow

Now I’m a dedicated brow pencil/brow gel combo person when it comes to taming my eyebrows, but as Benefit launched their new brow range, I picked up this little one as a freebie from a magazine. I love this for a lighter makeup day just to thicken my brows and set them so they look less sparse. Gimme Brow makes a nice quick brow routine as they both colour and set, perfect for weekends or zombie monday mornings!

  • Sleek Power Plump Lip Pencil in Fully Fuschia

I’m almost brand new to the lip plumping product scene after only using a plumping gloss before, and i’m really pleasantly surprised by these pencils. Fully Fuschia is definitely my fave of the ones I have, as It’s a beautiful bright pink that I can wear day or night. I’m not going to go into full details, as I did a review of these here, so check it out if you want to learn more!

Non Beauty Faves!

20160806_101303-tile

Lately I have been obsessed with two things fashion wise – Florals and Embellishments! These two beauties are my fave of the bunch this month, as they’re gorgeous and super versatile. First up is my floral bomber jacket. This is thin enough to wear when it’s one of those days where the weather can’t make up it’s mind whether to be sunny or not, as it’s easily folded and put in a handbag, but its also been my favourite thing to wear over a plain t shirt or shirt for a bit of added colour! I got this one from George at asda at a bargainous £14! Next are my very favourite sandals in the whole world. I remember looking and looking for a pair of embellished sandals with a block heel for months last year, and when I found these ones from Carvela & Kurt Geiger I knew they had to be mine! As the weather has been better over june, I’ve worn these both day and night, and they look fab with nice jeans!

  • Fifth Harmony 7/27 

This is something I’ve found myself listening to a lot on Spotify, and haven’t realised just how much I enjoy it until now! It’s super poppy and super catchy – I have never listened to Fifth Harmony before (I know, I know) but this album is a great piece of pop music!

Now for the fails!

I haven’t had a lot of fails to report on lately, but I have three products that aren’t my favourites this month. It’s completely personal and if these are your OG faves, you keep on doing you and loving them, but they’re really not for me!

20160806_101006

  • Clinique Clarifying Lotion no 3

You can’t tell by the photo, but I gave this one a good go (I used about a third of this big bottle), and It’s not something that did my skin any good. I used to use the No.2 clarifying lotion when I first started using clinique (and then stopped), but decided to try the No.3 as my skin is oilier than it used to be. First of all, purchasing this was not the best experience as the sales lady wouldn’t believe that my skin was too oily to use the dry/normal skin lotion (thanks so much, alison), and I had to go back for her to test my skin. It irked me because I know my skin and what it needs. Anyway, I was disappointed in this because it wasn’t cheap, and has alcohol in there which makes it just too abrasive for my sensitive skin. It did cleanse, but irritated as it went and I ended up with those little bumps everywhere after using this. If anyone wants a bottle of this, it’s free to a good home just let me know!

  • New Look Pure Colour Matte Liquid Lipstick

This may just be the worst lip product I have ever used, and I have bought hundreds of them over the years. It may even be a contester for the worst beauty product I’ve ever used. I bought this as I have a need to try out every single liquid lipstick ever, and added it to my new look order to qualify for free delivery. This smells so strongly of chemicals, I very nearly threw up (sorry if that’s TMI) when I first opened it. The smell lingers too, so not a good start, but I did brave it to try the formula on my lips. It’s streaky, dries down super patchy and left my lips dryer than the sahara desert. The shade I picked (Mink) swatches like a nice shade too, but on the lips it was a different story. Instead of being a nice neutral pink like I expected it’s pastelly, really unflattering and really chalky. I don’t know how it lasts or whether it crumbles, because I didn’t leave it on long enough to test that out. I’d stay well away if I were you!

  • Nude By Nature Concealer

I got this as part of Feel Unique’s Pick N Mix sample selection, and it didn’t even make it to me putting it on my face. I tested it on my wrist like I do everything, and this full on burned. It itched like crazy, and the skin on my wrist went bright red and irritated. Needless to say, I didn’t put it on my face. For a brand that claims itself as natural, iit sure did sting!

Want to see last month’s favourites?

So I hope you’ve all managed to stick with me through this huge faves and fails post! What do you guys think of the selection this month? Any of your personal faves in there too? Have you tried any of these and If you did what’s your opinion of them? Also, is there anything on your faves that I should definitely know about and try? Divulge your thoughts in the comments, please!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

Huge Colourpop Haul! || Review: Sleek Power Plump Lip Pencils! || Review: Grounded Coffee Scrub!||BritishBeautyBlogger X Origins “Mix&Mask” Beauty Box Review! || The Lust List: July 2016! || Review: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks in Mannequin and Rose Matter|| The Best Beauty Blending Sponge? ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

 

15 thoughts on “July Beauty Faves! (And a couple of fails)

  1. lizzgold says:

    I loved Gimme Brow as well! I’m tempted to try the New Look liquid lipstick just to see how bad it is hahah! I’ve never liked liquid lipsticks to be honest, I think the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams are one of the worst products I’ve tried! Controversial, I know! They just didn’t work for me. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • beautybyjessblog says:

      It’s so bad! I honestly never expected it to be so awful but it was! They’re like £3.99 too so you can get a decent drugstore lipstick for that price. I honestly don’t recommend wasting your money but they have some in stores to swatch (I wish i had first!) if you want to go have a look!
      Ah I really like the NYX ones! A little drying but such nice colours! xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

