Review: L’Oreal Nude Magique Cushion Foundation!

Hi my lovelies,

So today’s post is going to be all about the new foundation craze – cushion foundations! This trend started in Korea, and huge brands such as Lancome have released their own versions of this format of foundation, but L’Oreal is the first more affordable drugstore brand to bring out their own, and I knew I had to try it! I’ve had this one for a couple of weeks and given it a really good test, so here’s what I think!

20160525_200023

For those of you in the US, this (weirdly) has a different name over there; you’ll know this as the L’Oreal True Match Lumi Cushion Foundation. Not sure why it’s called something different, but there we go! It’s also been out in the states for ages  – why do we always get things last?!

Shade Choice

The shade choice is a pretty paltry offering, if I’m completely honest. It’s alright if you’re at the paler end of the spectrum like me, but anywhere past ‘a bit tanned’ or olive skinned and I can’t see this being something that you can wear. There are seven shades to choose from, and I think they’re all aimed at lighter skin tones, which I think needs addressing. As usual, I headed towards the lightest shades and swatched the shades Porcelain and Vanilla, and found porcelain was a better match as it is a little less yellow and more pink in tone for me.

Application

20160525_201918

I have tried every single way possible to apply this foundation in the past couple of weeks: with the sponge it came with, with a beauty blender, with a flat foundation brush, with a stippling brush, every which way! First of all can I say that the sponge in the packaging is mostly useless, it just soaks up the foundation and barely any gets on your actual face, so give that one a miss. My fave way to apply this is by dipping a stippling or buffing brush straight into the cushion and applying to my face the same way as a regular liquid foundation. A beauty blender or sponge is a good way to apply too, as it’ll help with that flawless, fresh faced look this  foundation promises! This foundation goes on and blends out really easily, and I like the fact that I can just dip my brush into the cushion to get some product on there!

Coverage

20160604_114704

Here’s how the foundation looks on me! You can see it’s nice and fresh and glowey, but I have little red patches peeking out (my nose especially!)

This is advertised as a dewy light to medium buildable coverage foundation, and I was
super curious how it would go on, as I normally wear a more satin or matte finish foundation that is a bit heavier than this one. I’m pleasantly suprised with the coverage that this foundation actually gives, as it does give me a nice medium coverage when I apply this with my stippling brush, but still looks very light and doesn’t feel thick or cakey in the slightest! This foundation does give a dewy glow when you apply, which is fab if you want a nice natural look without too much product, which I think is great! It doesn’t cover all of my redness like a fuller coverage base does, so I still need my concealer on top!

Lasting Power

Here is where there is a little bit of a problem for me. I have combo/oily skin and I knew picking a base that was going to give me a ‘dewy glow’ would be a little risky. I’m the sort of person that is hugely aware of when my skin looks oily or greasy, and I carry around a little Soap and Glory concealer/powder duo and blotting papers basically everywhere I go. This foundation looked beautiful when applied, and lasted really well, but I noticed my skin going a bit shiny (and not in the good, highlighty way) later on in the day. This could have been due to the fact that I normally set my makeup with powder, but to avoid the glow being covered with a matte powder, I skipped it when using this foundation, but I reckon what makes me lovely and dewy also contributes to the oil on my face later on in the day.

Anything Else?

I love that this foundation has an SPF in it. L’Oreal Nude Cushion foundation has an SPF 29 in there, which is higher than a normal foundation contains if it has sun protection included. I love how it feels super comfortable like i’m wearing a tinted moisturiser, but has the coverage of a foundation. I also think that as this is in a compact it’s so much easier to touch up on the go, however the puff is a bit rubbish. Value for money wise, it’s the first more affordable brand to offer a cushion foundation, so cheaper than the likes of Lancome. It is a little expensive for a high street foundation at £14.99, but L’Oreal tends to be on the higher priced end of drugstore makeup. I paid £9.99 for this on offer at Superdrug, which I think is great value, but as we creep up to the £15 mark I feel like there are better foundations on the high street for me and my combo skin (hello, Revlon Colorstay). I will be using this a lot over summer however, as I like how effortless and natural it looks, I’ll just have to make sure to keep the blotting paper handy!

Overall, I feel like this would work wonders for someone who has drier skin than mine, as I do have to blot more often with this, but the lasting power is really good and it’s super easy to put on and build up to a flawless medium coverage. I will be using all of this up, I’m not sure about how long this will last compared to my regular liquid foundation, but as it’s summer now (despite the weather), this will help me get a lovely more natural base while giving me the SPF that I want.

Have any of you tried this foundation or any other cushion foundations out yet? I’m curious to know how you found it! If you have normal or dry skin, did this work better for you in the glow department than it did for me? Are there any other cushion foundations you recommend and how does this one compare to it? Tell me everything in the comments my lovelies!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

Look Incredible Beauty Box – June 2016!Look Incredible Beauty Box – June 2016! || Mini Clinique Haul & Summer Gift! || Birchbox June 2016 – Sneak Peek! || 9 Essential Summer Beauty Tips! || May Favourites!|| The Best Beauty Blending Sponge?|| The Lust List: May 2016 || Review: Sleek Solstice Highlight Palette!

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

You lovelies can also follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Send me yours and I will follow you too!)

Ciao for now,

footer

 

 

20 thoughts on “Review: L’Oreal Nude Magique Cushion Foundation!

    • beautybyjessblog says:

      I don’t think I’d recommend it if you’re any oilier than I am because it’ll just add to the oil on your face and that’s never good! Just use loads of highlight on top of normal foundation or even mix a drop of liquid highlighter in with your normal base and it should work! Thanks so much for reading! Xoxo

      Like

  1. danniijane says:

    I remember trying Lancome’s cushion foundation when it came out and these foundations are so bad for me. I looked like an oil slick. This one looks pretty and glowy on you, it’s just a shame you have to blot more x

    Liked by 1 person

    • beautybyjessblog says:

      That’s the problem I have a little with this! My blotting paper sure is getting a workout when I wear this! It does look pretty though, so I think it’s worth the extra effort! If they did a glowey foundation that didn’t make us oily it would be such a holy grail find! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

