Birchbox UK May 2016 “For The Dreamers” – Unboxing and Review!

Hi my lovelies,

I’m back with another beauty box review for May, and this time it’s Birchbox’s turn! It’s also Friday the 13th today so I don’t know whether I’m jinxing this post or not by putting this up today! Are any of you guys superstitious? Got any good Friday 13th stories?

20160509_174339

20160509_185534

Anyway, May’s Birchbox theme for this month is “For the Dreamers” and the box features a design that’s hidden away underneath a silver scratch away overlay. I will say it took me around 15 minutes to fully scratch away all of the overlay and I ended up with silver foil bits everywhere, but i think the design for this box is stunning yet again! It’s full of bright colours and different patterns, and is well worth scratching away the foil if you have a little time!

April’s Birchbox || March’s Birchbox  || More about Birchbox || Want to sign up?

So what was in my box this month?

20160509_190058.jpg

  • Spectrum Collections – Unicorn Tears Wonder Sponge

20160509_185614

As we all know, I looooove Spectrum makeup brushes, so I was really looking forward to this is my box! This is sort of a Beauty Blender dupe, as it’s a similarly egg shaped makeup sponge. Now I’m new to the Beauty Blender as I (finally) got one a few weeks back (review on the way!). This sponge from Spectrum seems less malleable and firmer than that, and a lot wider at the base, but I’m liking it so far. Well worth a try, and a great alternative if you don’t want to shell out £16 for a BB! This is full size and retails for £4.99.

  • The Balm – Stainiac in Beauty Queen

20160509_185827

I’m a big fan of all the products from The Balm that I’ve tried before, and was hoping this was in my box when I did my sneak peek post. This is a pinky red lip stain that can also be used on the cheeks. It looks super dark in the packaging, but is really subtle and looks natural when on the lips. Now I’ll be honest, the sample size is a little bit stingy(I’ve had issues with this with The Balm in the past), but I really like how it looks on. The formula is different to other stains I’ve tried before, a little more watery, but this lends itself to having more play time to get it just right before drying, which I like. It’s also less drying than some other lip stains so overall, I like this. A sample size (obvs) but the full size is £10.

  • Philip Kingsley – PK Prep Polishing Balm

20160509_185923.jpg

As someone with naturally frizzy hair (curse you, father), I’ll try anything that claims to tame the frizz! I’ve been using this for the last few days and girl this is the good stuff right here. This is a more balmy formula than I’m used to using, but my hair looks silky smooth and non greasy after putting this on my hair, which takes a lot! I’ve been using it on dry hair in the mornings, and the ends of my hair are no longer dry and frizzy through the day. I’ve yet to try using this on damp hair (I prefer a spray) but this one is a definite winner for me. I have a sample size but the full product is £18.50. A tad expensive but I’m seriously considering it!

  • Caudalie – Vinosource Moisturising Sorbet

20160509_185854

Caudalie is one of those brands that I always pick up in shops and then never buy (mainly because I’ve never tried it before). I’m really averse to buying expensive products without having tested them first, because of my allergy prone, sensitive skin. I’m really happy to say that my skin hasn’t reacted to this in the slightest, so yay! This is part of Caudalie’s new range of products that uses the antioxidants in grapes to create beautiful, natural skincare.This is also meant to reduce redness in the skin, which is always welcome with me! The sample is a little deceiving as you get less in there than you think, but it’s a nice little sampler. Full size this would be £23.

  • Rituals – Tao|Wai Wang Body Scrub

20160509_185740.jpg

Does anyone else love Rituals products because I do! This one is a body scrub that is scented of white lotus and Yi Yi ren, and although I have no idea what that is, I really love the way this smells. This could also not have come at a better time, as I’ve just run out of my Soap and Glory body scrub and needed a new one! I think body scrubs are great and there’s something really satisfying about exfoliating all the dead skin off for me. As it’s a body product, this is a really generous sample too! Full size this is £19.50 which is more expensive than I usually for, but we’ll see how it turns out!

  • Vita Coco – Coconut Oil

20160509_185649.jpg

A little bonus in my box this month, I’m already well aware of the fantastic benefits of using coconut oil in my beauty routine. I like to use this on my hair overnight and wash out in the morning to hydrate and help stop my frizziness, It’s lovely to mix with some sugar and use as a lip scrub, It’s a natural non irritant eye makeup remover, and if you’re horribly clumsy like I am, rub a little on bruises to speed up the healing process. I already have some of this at home (and in this brand, actually!), but it’s always nice to have a backup for travel etc. I normally pick mine up in Holland and Barrett or Boots, but the full 500ml size of this is £9.99 at Birchbox.

What’s the verdict?

I’m super happy with this month’s box! May’s box is better for me than April’s was, as it’s got stuff I am really excited about using! You can keep up with me on twitter (link below) to see how I go on! Best thing the box? The hair product no doubt so far!

So that was my Birchbox for May! What do you guys think? Have you tried any of these products before? Did you like them? Hate them? let me know in the comments! If you subscribe to Birchbox, I’m really interested in knowing if you got anything different to me this month, so tell me if you did!

If you’re interested in trying out Birchbox, Click here to find out more and get £5 worth of points to spend in the Birchbox shop when you subscribe!

As always, please let me know what you think in the comments and anything you want to see from my blog because I really love you guy’s input. I’m currently trying out my beauty blender against the RT sponge for a review, so look out for that one in a week or two!

Thank you guys for reading, and please don’t forget to give this post a big like and a share if you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you all very soon in the next post! Remember to click that lovely follow button to be updated about anything new from me!

More Posts from me:

Look Incredible Beauty Box – May 2016! || Urban Decay Alice Through the Looking Glass Palette and Lipsticks – First Impressions and Swatches! || Mini Makeup Haul! || Review: Sleek Solstice Highlight Palette! || Benefit Dandelion Wishes Set – First Impressions and Review!|| I Finally Got a Beauty Blender!! || April Beauty Faves! || Beauty Top 5 – Clinique! 

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

Big news! You lovelies can now follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Also send me yours and I will follow you also!)

Ciao for now,

footer

13 thoughts on “Birchbox UK May 2016 “For The Dreamers” – Unboxing and Review!

Leave a Reply

