Birchbox Uk March 2016:”Word Up” Unboxing and review!

Hi my lovelies!

So this post is a little belated, as I actually received my Birchbox pretty early this month, I just haven’t had much time to sit and blog about it! As this is a little later than planned, I can tell you the final verdicts on the items in my box this month in this post, which is a plus!

The theme this month was “Word Up”, and it was all about searching for (and finding!) your ultimate beauty discovery. The reason I got Birchbox in the first place was to find new brands and products I would love, so this was a great theme for me! This month’s box is pretty cute, with a wordsearch to do on the front of the box, too!

bb2

For all you lovelies who don’t know about Birchbox, it’s a beauty subscription service that sends around 5 beauty products (including makeup, skincare and haircare) to your door each month. Sometimes there is also a beauty bonus included, such as January’s #nofilter compact mirror! It costs £10 plus £2.95 postage, and in my opinion is well worth it so far!

Check out Feb’s box || January’s box || More about Birchbox || Want to sign up?

Let’s get on with telling you all about March’s box, shall we? If you saw my Sneak Peek post, you’ll have been able to see some of the items I could have got and that others will have received in their boxes, too.

What I received this month:

bb3.jpg

 

  • Arrow – Boost colour enhancing lip balm

bb4.jpg

This was something that I think everyone got in their box this month, and can we just talk about the packaging for a moment before we get into this? The packaging looks pretty beautiful, with lime green and black geometric patterns, and it really stands out. I would honestly buy this for the packaging alone (I’m awful like that!). Onto the product: overall, I don’t hate this. The info booklet says it’s formulated to adjust to your lip colour to give lips a hint of colour and I’m happy to say that it does that! My lips felt nourished and soft after using this, the only thing I’m let down by is the smell. To me (and also a friend of mine that gets Birchbox, too) this smells a little too chemical-ey and plastic-ey for my liking, that being said I really like how the product works and feels on the lips. This is full size, and sold for £11.

  • ModelCo – More Brows

bb5

This one is another product that I think everyone received this month. How a brow gel that only comes in two shades is supposed to match everyone, I’m not sure. I received this in medium/dark, which is a teeny bit dark for me, but if I use it with a brow pencil, it works just fine. The quality is pretty good, and the gel applies well, so I’m happy with the product itself. As I use a brow pencil normally, I use a clear brow gel day-to-day , but this is something handy to add to my collection, as I love a good brow product! Another full size product, this retails for £13.

 

  • Philip B – Drop Dead Straightening Baume

I didn’t know this before I looked into this product, but Philip B is a massively cult hair brand, and pretty expensive. They sell his stuff on Cult Beauty, so if you fancy having a look, click the link. This is one of the products that makes me feel like Birchbox is actually listening to what I want in a product, and sending me things appropriately. I suffer with pretty frizzy hair naturally, so this was a fab little thing to get in the box, emphasis on the little because this sample is pretty small. Overall, It’s an okay de-frizzing product, but I feel that I could and have bought better on the high street. My John Frieda Frizz ease serum works miles better than this and costs way less, in my opinion. This is a sample size (obviously), and the full size sells for £20 RRP.

bb7.jpg

  • Amika – Nourishing Hair Mask

Now this is the only item from this month i haven’t used yet. The sample isn’t very big so I wanted to wait until my hair really needed it to use this hair mask. Amika, like most of this box, isn’t a brand i’m familiar with, but I love me a good hair mask so i’m looking forward to trying this out! This hair mask promises to rehydrate, repair and fix split ends, which should be a great thing for my hair! I’m a little disappointed with the packaging of the sample, as it means this is really a one-use product, but nevertheless I’m looking forward to see if this delivers! Full size this would be £19.99.

  • Polaar – IceSource Moisturising Gel

bb6

Another Product where I feel that Birchbox is taking a note of what I’ve put on my profile, and sending me products that match that! This one is a water based moisturiser that uses glacier water to hydrate your skin. It’s non oily, which is good for my combination oily skin, and it feels cooling when applied. The sample size is pretty generous, too, so I think this will last a little while. The booklet says it’s a good base for makeup (like a primer?), but I haven’t tried it as a primer yet… maybe I should? Full size this would be £25.90.

  • This Works – Deep Sleep pillow spray

bb

I thought this was a bit of a weird one to get in a beauty box (a pillow spray, really?), but this actually works! I’ve taken to spraying a little on my pillow before bed, especially if I know I need the rest, and I can honestly say that my sleep has been less disturbed and I feel more rested when I wake up. I was a little worried that my hair would be weird and greasy when waking up, but it was fine. I also liked the relaxing lavender smell to the spray too, as lavender is one of those scents that are really calming to me. I’m not sure I’d pay a full £25 for this spray, but I do like it and will be searching out a cheaper alternative.

What’s the verdict?

Overall, this isn’t my favourite box so far, but I do think Birchbox is listening to the things on my profile and sending things I will actually use, even if they aren’t the most exciting.

Best things in the box? The moisturiser is pretty great, and I really like the lip balm (bar the scent).

So that was my Birchbox for March! What do you guys think? Have you tried any of these products before? Did you like them? Hate them? let me know in the comments! If you subscribe to Birchbox, I’m really interested in knowing if you got anything different to me this month, so tell me if you did!

If you’re interested in joining Birchbox, you can follow this link to find out more and get your first box! It also gives you £5 worth of points to spend in the Birchbox shop, so that’s a winner! Additionally, if you are a student and have a UNIDAYS account, you can get your first box for half price! You can also use the code GOODTIMES at the checkout to get your box for half price, even if you’re not a student! So basically, using these means your first box ends up at £6.47 plus £5 of points to spend!

Want to see what I got in February’s box?

Remember to click that lovely follow button to get notified of any new posts from me, and give this one a like and a share if you enjoyed it!

Be sure to check my latest post: The Lust List: March for all the things I’ve been green with envy over this month! It’s my newest monthly segment and features some amaaaaazing items and products that I’d love to hear your thoughts on!

More Posts from me:

Unxboxing: Look Incredible Beauty Box – March 2016   Review: Clinique Chubby Stick Highlighter! || February Beauty Faves and Fails ||20 Beauty Blog Post Ideas to Combat Writer’s Block! ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube  || Follow on Instagram ||

Big news! You lovelies can now follow my blog with Bloglovin’ – Check it out here! (Also send me yours and I will follow you also!)

Ciao for now,

footer

 

8 thoughts on “Birchbox Uk March 2016:”Word Up” Unboxing and review!

Leave a Reply

