February’s Birchbox – two weeks on (what’s the verdict?)

Hi my lovelies!

So as you know, I’ve been getting Birchbox for a few months now, and I’ve been doing some unboxing posts as I get the boxes, with my first impressions.
I thought I’d add this post in as a little extra, after a couple of weeks, to give my final verdict on the products I got this month.
If you’d like to see what I originally thought of these products, you can see my unboxing post Here or the video Here.

image

Just to recap, the items I got in February’s box were:

  • Spectrum collections tapered powder brush
  • LOC one and done shadow stick in Champagne Problems
  • Korres milk proteins 3 in 1 cleansing emulsion
  • The Balm frat boy blush/shadow
  • Number 4 lumiere d’Hiver Super Comb Prep and protect
  • Bonus: derm eyes make up remover wipes

What I liked:
The Spectrum makeup brush is great! I love getting new beauty tools in these boxes, and new makeup brushes are always a good thing! The bristles are super soft and make applying blushes or even highlight so easy. I’m seriously thinking of buying more from this range.
I also really like the shadow stick and the blush. The shadow stick is really long lasting and shimmery, and the colour is really pretty! If you want to see a little of how it looks on the eyes, check out this post!
The blush is a little powdery, but blends out really nicely, and is a lovely pinky tone for my skin. I haven’t used it as a shadow yet, but I’ll report back if I do.
What maybe the slightly boring, but actually brilliant star of this box for me is the conditioning spray from Number 4. It works as both a leave in conditioner and a detangler, and since using it my hair feels softer, and I have noticeably less flyaways and split ends! I really like this and think I’ll get a large bottle (Even though it’s  £20, ouch) when it’s finished!
What I didn’t really like:
The Korres cleanser. Firstly, birchbox have sent me 3 cleansers in the last 3 months, and I’ve only liked one of them (the liz earle one) This one from Korres seemed good in theory, and says it’s suitable for sensitive skin, but about two minutes after rinsing this off, my face started to burn and itch. It’s been a week since i used it, and my face is still broken out because of just one use. I’ve given it to a friend to use because I will definitely not be using this again.
The derm eyes makeup wipe (wipe, singular). First of all, this is not much of a sample as you only get one wipe. I don’t think you can really get a grip on if a product will work for you in just one use, so this was a tiny bit useless to me. I’ll also say that I don’t really like makeup wipes in general, and i prefer liquid cleansers or balms to take off my makeup. The wipe worked, but took a little work, especially to take off my mascara. I just don’t think they are worth  £9.50 for the pack as they’re just okay.

So overall, a really nice box with things that I will use a lot, but also a couple that I didn’t like (or they didn’t like me!)
Do you get Birchbox? What did you think of this month’s box? Did you get these products and what did you think of them? Did you get anything different? Let me know in the comments!

Interested in getting Birchbox? Follow this link to get £5 worth of points to spend in the Birchbox shop when you sign up! You can also use the code HAPPYDAYS to get your first box for half price as well as this, so your first box is as good as free!

Latest Posts: || Snow White inspired makeup tutorial! || 20 Beauty Blog Post Ideas to Combat Writer’s Block! || GOSH Cosmetics SS16 Collection Review ||Manchester Haul ||

Find me on twitter || Subscribe on Youtube 

You can now find me on Instagram too! (It’s exciting, I know!)

Ciao for now,

jess

7 thoughts on “February’s Birchbox – two weeks on (what’s the verdict?)

  1. tatikprice says:

    Hi Jess, great post as always! Getting these beauty boxes sure is a great way to discover different beauty products. Shame your skin has reacted so badly to Korres cleanser, it is a good brand and a lot of their products are simply fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • beautybyjessblog says:

      Thanks!! 🙂 Overall i think that i’m definitely getting my money’s worth out of these boxes – the stuff that i like far outweighs the things i don’t! I think i’d be really wary though of using anything from Korres in the future. xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

