Review: MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer

Hi my lovelies!

So I’m quite into matte lips at the moment, and wanted to try a couple of different brands too see which formulations I prefer. So off to my local drugstore I went, and came away with a few different products to try!

One of the lip colours I picked up was from MUA (make up academy), and was part of their velvet lip lacquer range, which are essentially liquid lipsticks that apply like a gloss, then dry to a matte texture.

image

I thought for the price (£3) the packaging looked pretty good. You could see each colour within the tube, which had a frosted glass effect, but was actually plastic! As these are branded MUA Luxe, the gold cap matched this perfectly.
I chose the colour Vivacity, a deep fuschia shade. I’m quite into pink lip colours and berry tones, so was drawn to this one straight away.
When swatched in the shop, the colour looked pretty great, and one I thought was really wearable, so this one went straight in my basket!

image

I think this lip lacquer applies really easily with the doe foot applicator. It glides on smoothly, but does take a little bit to dry completely.
Once applied this does not budge at all, it lasts for ages without loss of pigment. As MUA is a more budget brand, I find this liquid lipstick to be a little more dry and chalky than some more high quality products.
The colour is also quite a bit brighter than I expected  (See below ), to the point where It may not be as wearable for me on a daily basis as I originally thought. I do like the shade I chose though, and for only £3 it’s well worth the money.

werdtfykij

Overall, I think you’re getting a pretty good product. Again, this was just £3, so we’re not talking super high end, Tom Ford quality lip lacquer, and I wasn’t expecting to. Although quite drying, it stays all day without being too uncomfortable. This was pretty difficult to remove though, I needed to use some of my Clinique Take the Day Off and scrub pretty hard to get it off!
I think I may go for a less bold colour next time, as this one was quite vivid! Super pigmented though! They’re adding more shades soon, so I’m super excited to try them all out!

My overall rating: 4/5

rating

You can find MUA products at Superdrug  if you live in the UK. The  MUA Website offers worldwide shipping, so even if you don’t live in the UK, you can still get your hands on these!

Have you guys tried these lip lacquers? Are there any liquid lipsticks or matte lip colours that you recommend I should try? Let me know in the comments?

Enjoyed this post? Like and share if you did!

Is there anything you’d like to see from me in the future? More reviews, tutorials, more about me, hauls etc? Please let me know as I love hearing from you guys!

Check out my last post: Mani of the week: Pastel Ice-Cream inspired nails!

Find me on Twitter!

Subscribe on Youtube!

I’m off to Manchester tomorrow to watch Cats at the opera house with my mum. I got her tickets for her birthday, so that should be fun! We’re also going to do some well deserved shopping while we’re there (specifically Selfridges), so you may see a lovely haul post from me soon!

Ciao for now,

jess

8 thoughts on “Review: MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer

Leave a Reply

